PDA

View Full Version : Getting into subpatch modelling...

etyrihje
06-07-2006, 03:51 PM
I have been using LW part time for three years, but I have mainly done buildings and architecture, using the basic shapes and my favorite tool the bolean tool...

I have barely scrathced the surface of subpatch modelling, I built a toon character, but subpatch modelling is so far from the other apporach, and keeps messing with my brain...

I want to build a large oil tanker (ship), and I can imagine how to get the main shape of the hull, but how do I make square holes in the hull, using bolean produces weird results...

What I am asking here I guess is to be pointed to a good crash-course in subpatch modeling... I have the "inside lightwave" books #7 & #8, any other sources that any of you would recommend?

Any hints and tips appreciated!

Thanks

Silkrooster
06-07-2006, 05:03 PM
I am no expert with sub patches but here is my theory, all subpatch models are created with 4 point polygons so, you should be able to use the knife tool and create 4 lines where 2 will intersect with the other 2 lines, then select the center poly on both sides and use the bridge tool, instant hole.
Silk

Penforhire
06-07-2006, 05:14 PM
"Inside LW 8" has enough info to get you rolling if you work through the tutorials (e.g. the cell phone exercise but imagine the buttons going down instead of up). I'm a FNG too at LW but I'd suggest deleting the polygons where you want holes and using Extender to make walls going inside the ship. Knife or Bandsaw can be used to sharpen up the edges near corners (adding narrow polygons very near the edge).

Another alternative would be to Smooth Shift a polygon(s) where you want a hole and move the new shifted polygon(s) down. Seems like the trick is getting the polygons in just the right places for your holes. Tools like bandsaw followed by band glue seem to do that trick (moving ploygon edges without distortion) well.

hrgiger
06-07-2006, 05:21 PM