PDA

View Full Version : Does lightwave support dual xeon proccessors?



linck82
06-07-2006, 12:51 PM
Hi guys, I am a postgrad and am now a visualiser. Lightwave is my choice of tool. I want to build a machine specificaly for lightwave. Firstly Does lightwave support dual xeon proccessors? Will it use the full dual 3.4 xeons when rendering or will it only use one proccessor?
Secondly is a one powerfull dual core proccessor better for rendering with lightwave?
I want to build the optimum lightwave rendering machine with a budget of 2000
Any help or advice would be much appreciated:help:

Wickster
06-07-2006, 01:14 PM
Yup. LW makes use of the dual xeons when rendering. I think it even supports the Hyperthreading that comes with it cause I render in 4threads (2CPUs pls HT on both of them) and on the Task manager it shows 4 graphs hitting 100% on all of them when I render.

My current setup is (though a bit dated)
Dual P4HT Xeons 2.2GHz with 533MHz FSB
512MB Rimms Memory
Nvidia 6200 with 256MB

linck82
06-08-2006, 02:21 AM
thanks

massmusic
07-01-2006, 05:09 PM
But does LW automatically do this or does one need to configure it?

LW 8.3, dual xeon p4 2.4 gig

Captain Obvious
07-02-2006, 06:26 PM
But does LW automatically do this or does one need to configure it?

LW 8.3, dual xeon p4 2.4 gig
In the render options, set the number of threads to 2 or more. 4 is probably ideal in most scenes on your setup.

However, you do NOT want to buy a Xeon right now. The old Xeons, the ones based on the same architecture as the Pentium 4, are outdated. Wait a week or so and buy a Woodcrest-based Xeon instead. Xeon models 5110 to 5160 are good. Xeons with model numbers lower than that are not a good buy.

massmusic
07-04-2006, 10:52 PM
I built my rig 3 years ago when there was no other Xeon option. I'll try the multi-thread thing as soon as I'm back up and rendering. Had my OS HD fail on me