PDA

View Full Version : Question about using Lightwave for game sprites

Ojuzu
06-07-2006, 12:23 PM
Hello everyone - I'm about to make a 3D application purchase and I've been searching through the forums here trying to determine if Lightwave would be the best choice given my budget and needs.

Currently, I have very little 3D experience. I'm a game developer/programmer so I'm coming from a technical background, but I'm also a musician/composer so I have more of a creative side than the average developer geek. ;)

I've been using Gamespace Light since it's marketed towards developers who need to create game graphics. I'm getting my head around it but I don't really like the interface and I'm worried that once I get better it will be limiting. Lightwave's UI seems a lot more intuitive for a programmer such as myself and this user community seems much more active as well.

I've narrowed it down to either the full version of Gamespace or Lightwave. Anyone have experience with both that could give me a little direction? Or just any experience with using Lightwave for game graphics? (I've looked through the game dev forum but it seems to be one of the least active on this board.)

I create primarily 2D games so one of my primary uses will be to create a 3D character, animate it and then render it out to a keyframed image so I can have 3D characters in a 2D world. (Similiar to the implementation in Donkey Kong Country.) One of the things I like about Gamespace is that it has specific functionality to render out a 3D animation sequence to static images.

Sorry for the long post but I want to be sure that I really need to spend $800 instead of $300. I don't mind spending it but I just want to make sure it can do what I want.

Thanks in advance for any feedback!

P.S. I've ordered the demo DVD so hopefully that'll help in my desicion making process.

Meaty
06-07-2006, 12:42 PM