PDA

View Full Version : selecting objects on layers question



Rayek
06-07-2006, 06:07 AM
Hi,

Does anyone know whether it's possible to click on a background or foreground layer object (in the viewports) and have it identified in the layer manager? I have a lot of layers in my objects and am experiencing trouble choosing the correct layers sometimes. It would be a boon if I could select a part in the views and identify the layer it belongs to.

R.

toby
06-07-2006, 12:57 PM
Yea that would great. There's nothing like that built into Lightwave unfortunatley.

Somebody may have written a plugin to do that, you could hunt on Flay.com for something -

Rayek
06-07-2006, 05:07 PM
Okay, thanks. I was afraid of that... Querying the fora made it quite obvious to me that a LOT of people working with LW want the layer manager to be enhanced with new functionality. I love working with them as they are, but Newtek should introduce some drastic improvements in the near future.

For example, Modo's layer manager is excellent: exactly the same as Lightwave's, but 'modernized'. I don't think this would be too difficult for the programmers at Newtek.