PDA

View Full Version : Help - 4:3 to 16:9

calhoontuna
06-06-2006, 11:04 AM
Help, help, help. Need to convert a 4:3 video to 16:9, and I've never done this before so I'm a little confused as to how this works.

Edited a piece in 4:3. Suddenly client needs it converted to 16:9 by three pm.

Rendered it out as DV Video Type 2 Full NTSC D1 Video Resolution (720X480). With the Set 16:9 flag.

Imported it into Cleaner and rendered it out as a 16:9 MPEG-2 NTSC DVD file.

This I imported into DVD workshop and burned onto a DVD.

The final product is definately 16:9 but the people look stretched out horizontally as if they've put on some weight. Is this normal or did I do something wrong?

Thanks for the help.

Dan Hong
06-06-2006, 05:22 PM
Yeah, no worries. You did the right thing. That's what you get when you convert 4:3 to 16:9. Unless you shot it in 16:9.

Rodad
06-06-2006, 05:35 PM
Hi Brian - don't you just love clients who don't know what they want ?

First you need to change your piece from 4:3 to 16:9.
You can either add 'curtians' to both sides of your footage or cut off the top and bottom of your picture - I think there are presets in the tool shed for this so its very quick to do. If not, use the ARC (aspect ratio converter) in the control tree settings.
If you cut off top & bottom you may need to adjust your headroom on some of the footage but the picture does fill the compleat 16:9 frame.

After that , just do what you did and all should be good.

Rohan

bbeanan
06-06-2006, 05:45 PM
Sort of on the same note to all...

If you are making a video for a client check to see if they will use it at a trade show. If they will then make sure you shoot in 16:9 aspect as 99.9% of tradeshow displays are 16:9 Plasma screens.