PDA

View Full Version : Are we able to animate characters reasonable easy yet?

Mipmap
05-29-2006, 07:14 PM
I've loved Lightwave ever since I started learning it in my highschool class, but the worst problem I ever had with it is that while modeling is pretty easy in it, animating charaters is still a total pain for me after all this time.

I've tried weightmaps and various methods I've seen pop up in tutorials to keep the mesh deforming how I want when its in motion. I tried one for using morphs when bones rotate to a certain degree, which kind of works but seems to still get messed up since I have to make the morph in modeler and then switch back to layout to see how it got applied, but even then the morph didn't seem to be applied at the right time or a right way to let it be used as a fake smart skin.

Also the skeletons often act far too strange when animating for me than some other things I tried. As well. In my short experience with Hash, a $300 program I was able to sit down being new to it and found that it animated very well. I can just click a wrist or an ankle and just drag the foot or hand around on the screen no matter my view angle and the arm or leg will bend with it as if you are lifting the limb of a puppet and made it very easy to post a character and animate them. IK Booster seemed at times to try to be attempting something like this, but wasn't really quite there all the way.

I sometimes get the feeling I'm not alone here since any time I get shown examples of animations done with Lightwave, its limited to missiles flying through the air, or spaceships. Pretty much things that don't really have much of any moving parts, let alone ones that bend or flex. That is if you exclude the people using Messiah.