PDA

View Full Version : WMV and MOV formats

sierra
05-29-2006, 12:22 PM
I have a frustration with VT4 in that it will make WMV and MOV formats but it won't let me load them. Is there a plug in or something I need to load them? Or will VT5 take them?

If I want to use them again, I have to go back and find the originals in rtv format.

Also I made a little 320x243 30 second clip with some music. It came to l.6MB in WMV format. I wanted to use it on a server that doesn't take WMV so I re-made it in VT4 as an AVI and as a MOV. Both of them sound great in VT but stutter and are static-filled when played in the WMP or QT. I tried making them into AVI or MOV in Mirage, same problem. And even so, the AVI is 250 MB and the MOV is 25MB. So I started playing around with formats and feel overwhelmed as to which to use for the smallest file that isn't WMV.

And the sound choices are way over my head. Can anyone help with some beginner suggestions as to what you would pick to get a small file that plays well with the sound?

Thanks,

Sierra

chribba
05-29-2006, 01:38 PM
Save one copy of the original in *.rtv format if you planning of using it later, why would you use the wmv or mov if you have set it to lower quality then the original format.

Qualify as small size? Itīs up to you to determine whats the lowest quality you need. Just render out to Wmv,avi or mov.. Remember to check upper or lower field, if they are wrong it can look like stutter.

chribba

sierra
05-29-2006, 02:37 PM
Save one copy of the original in *.rtv format if you planning of using it later, why would you use the wmv or mov if you have set it to lower quality then the original format.chribba