PDA

View Full Version : How's the stability?



Para
05-27-2006, 08:19 AM
So yea, how's the stability? :)

lwaddict
05-27-2006, 09:40 AM
No major problems with stability here...
and I've been playing around a lot with ZBrush and APS displacements, resulting in some models ranging in the millions of polygons.
And the rendering still hasn't suffered enough for me to back it off.

1gig RAM w/Athlon 2400...nothing fancy pushing this.
Just LW9

harlan
05-27-2006, 11:20 AM
The few times I was able to use/see it in action, it was "rock f#ckin solid!!!"

By far the most stable version of LW that I can remember. I wasn't privileged enough to participate in the beta this time around, but one of my animators did and I was pretty **** impressed.

Back in the day, when Allen & Stuart bailed, I was quite concerned about the future development of LW as Allen & Stuart are some fairly smart cookies. That concern however was quickly laid to rest, and I honestly feel that Jay Roth & the new LW team are probably the best thing to happen to LW since LW was first stripped from the VT and made standalone.


hope that helps.

dee
05-27-2006, 12:43 PM
i use modeler beta a lot in production, and i'm pretty happy with it, stability is great. wouldn't go back to 8.5.
:thumbsup:

Intuition
05-27-2006, 12:49 PM
We are switching to Lw9 at Eden FX because of its stability.

I think its the most solid build since 5.5 - 6.5 days and maybe even more stable then that.

Dodgy
05-27-2006, 01:42 PM
I'm working wholey in 9 now, wouldn't go back :)

cyatic
05-27-2006, 05:00 PM
I have been using nothing but 9. Uninstalled 8.5. No crashes at all.

monovich
05-27-2006, 05:12 PM
that short film I posted in the gallery was nothing but LW9. Stability got better and better with each release. The bug fix lists were cool. Haven't used the latest beta yet, but I imagine it's even better.

mav3rick
05-27-2006, 05:15 PM
u darn cheaters use lw 9 so long:) heh soon i will do the same and i will catch u up u know:)

ShawnStovall
05-27-2006, 06:59 PM
I've had nothing but crashes...must be the...wait what am I saying...I remember now! It was the text!

Exception
05-27-2006, 08:28 PM
Yep crashing all over the place here.
Pretty much always when closing the app as well.
Well, they're still working on it :)

ShawnStovall
05-27-2006, 08:36 PM
Yep crashing all over the place here.
Pretty much always when closing the app as well.
Well, they're still working on it :)


:agree: :agree:

SplineGod
05-27-2006, 10:12 PM
Rock solid for me though I tend to see some crashes after deleting a few bones.

Philbert
05-28-2006, 12:21 AM
I had a few crashes with the earliest builds, but nothing bad lately.

StereoMike
05-28-2006, 03:48 AM
Very stable for me. I used 8 and 9 parallel first, but switched last week to 9-only.
Mike

Bytehawk
05-28-2006, 05:29 AM
LW9 - only
already completed 2 commercial projects on LW9

nlightuk
05-28-2006, 10:24 AM
Stable here...had some of the earlier beta builds die on me on occasion, but haven't had that happen for a while now...

wacom
05-28-2006, 03:49 PM
Much more stable than 8. It doesn't seem to "choke" as much either.

prospector
05-28-2006, 05:55 PM
Pretty much always when closing the app as well.

:agree: (Layout for me only) solid as a rock besides that

lots
05-29-2006, 12:58 PM
Each OB build was better than the last, for the most part, there were some back tracks though ;)

However, most of my problems had to do with tools misbehaving (not working quite right) rather than program stability.... Though OB12 is by far the best one to date for me :)

theo
05-29-2006, 02:44 PM
Pure 9 here.

Have had issues with crashing but in total 9 seems to be more stable than any of the previous versions I have used.

9 has been used for the last three months on a purely commercial basis.

9 is good. 9 is better than anything between 1 and 8.999. 9 comes before 10. 9 is just plain cool. 9 is odd. And, finally, 9 is Newtek's entrance ramp onto a new 3D level.

The 9 of Newtek still has a few glitches, irkies and bonkies but is still a huge leap forward for mankind.

Take 9 and fly brother.

prospector
05-29-2006, 05:24 PM
.

WhiteBoy
06-01-2006, 03:30 AM
.

I second that.

OB12 has been very stable for me. I have two scenes that were giving me a lot of grief in 8.5 but work perfectly in 9.

byte_fx
06-03-2006, 11:40 AM
Looks like the only people that included their system are using the Wintel version.

Anyone using the Mac version?

byte_fx

Scazzino
06-03-2006, 02:01 PM
Anyone using the Mac version?

I'm using the Mac version of LW9 daily. There were a few rough patches with Mac stability early on, but it's been getting more and more stable on the Mac with every new build. Now it's at least as stable as LW8.5 was for me.

I recently moved a project to LW9 that I couldn't render in LW8.5 without crashing. I had hit a dead end, couldn't even render it in FPrime in LW8.5 without crashing. I've been able to render it fine in LW9 without crashing though. So its full steam ahead again!

:thumbsup:

BazC
06-03-2006, 03:34 PM
Yes I'm just moving over to using LW9 full time, I'd say it was more stable than 8.5 for me too. The only crashes I'm getting now are when I do something stupid and it's definately getting more stable with every build :thumbsup:

Defiance
06-11-2006, 10:36 PM
I don't have 8.5 but how does it compare with your memory of 7.5 or 5.6? 5.6 never crashed, 7.5 crashes but still very stable.

lilrayray77
06-12-2006, 04:27 AM
Everything seems good excep for one thing. When ever I use Catmull-Clark subpatch, It freezes up and quits. Probably something conflicting on my computer.

Carm3D
06-12-2006, 11:16 AM
I am rendering a scene that crashes once in a while. When I was using APS (Distance to object / Per Polygon) it crashed frequently. I turned that off. Now it's less frequent but still prevalent.

lardbros
06-12-2006, 11:24 AM
Well I'm very impressed with the stability. Mine has crashed a few times on exiting, but hey it doesn't matter and it's usually if you just hit the X and quit. If you reset the scene first it goes ok.

Plus i'm working in MAX8 at work and am getting around 8-10 crashes per day... doing simple, low-poly modelling, and using small texture maps. It's driving me INSANE!!! Give me LW9 anyday!!!

Tiger
06-12-2006, 11:53 AM
:lightwave :lightwave :lightwave yeah!

chatworthy
06-13-2006, 07:50 PM
Not bad at all, so far...

xcelcor
06-19-2006, 01:20 PM
Has anyone noticed any stability issue with LW 9 on Mac OS Tiger ?

Bog
06-19-2006, 02:52 PM
Ever since we went to the RC series, I've been beating on 9 daily like it's the perp who killed my partner and I've yet to actually crash it.

I need to work it for another month or so before I call it "bulletproof", but it's certainly giving me a lot of confidence.

Darn fine job.

Scazzino
06-19-2006, 03:14 PM
There are still a few crashes that they are working on I think, but for the most part it's been pretty stable here on Tiger on both G5's and G4's.

I've been using LW9 layout heavily every day for the past couple of months and the stability is getting better with each new open beta build!

:thumbsup:

janoverust
06-19-2006, 06:12 PM
I find it stable, but it don't like FPrime. Both Mac and XP...

Bog
06-19-2006, 06:15 PM
It's unfair to call FPrime at this point. I understand that Mr. Worley is working his ever-loving gizzards out on a new Nine Cycle version of his tools.

Let him be. He's never let us down yet.

mattclary
06-19-2006, 07:29 PM
I would consider it more stable if it would actually install. ;)

RC9 has an install issue, I think they accidentaly included some debug code in the drop.

janoverust
06-20-2006, 12:15 AM
It's unfair to call FPrime at this point. I understand that Mr. Worley is working his ever-loving gizzards out on a new Nine Cycle version of his tools.

Let him be. He's never let us down yet.

You're right, and I'm looking forward to some Worley-Magic, but I just get alot of crashes with FPrime.

I can't go back 8.5, so I kind of called that one on myself... :)

DragonFist
06-20-2006, 12:29 AM
I found it quite stable until I started doing rigging and minor CA. Since I've been working in this area, I get non-reproducible crashes every couple hours or so. No big deal as long as I save often. But with other tools that I have used I have found it more stable than the 8.x cycle. I haven't done rigging or CA before so can't say if it is any different than 8 there.

Kid Mesh
06-20-2006, 05:31 AM
Wow this is really good news, I cant wait for the final release. Exciting!

ShawnStovall
06-24-2006, 10:59 AM
I'm finding the new builds to be really unstable. Shutting down Modeler causes my computer to freeze.

erikals
06-24-2006, 12:28 PM
I am rendering a scene that crashes once in a while. When I was using APS (Distance to object / Per Polygon) it crashed frequently. I turned that off. Now it's less frequent but still prevalent.

Outch. (can you recall if it was at a specific frame or if it was "irregular"?)

Sande
07-07-2006, 04:31 AM
I've only used this for a few days, but so far the nodes seem to be quite unstable. Layout seems to crash sooner or later when I try to use them (with displacement and/or surfacing)...

Anyone else having similar problems?

CGDream
07-13-2006, 10:42 AM
LW 9 modeler takes about 45 seconds to launch then crashes when I try to do anything, such as make a box. Using the RC 23, released today.

Duel Xeon 3.0ghz XP Pro 2.5GB RAM

Cg Dream

Thomas M.
07-13-2006, 11:01 AM
I better shut up.

TSpyrison
07-13-2006, 11:14 AM
Its been rock stable for me..

lardbros
07-13-2006, 11:43 AM
Its been rock stable for me..

Yep, managed to complete a whole project using the latest RC, with only a single measly crash of Modeller. I was working in Layout at the time so i could save my models anyway. Not a problem to be honest. But i'm impressed with the stability so far. I haven't really been pushing the software to it's limits though!

Chuck
07-13-2006, 02:09 PM
LW 9 modeler takes about 45 seconds to launch then crashes when I try to do anything, such as make a box. Using the RC 23, released today.

Duel Xeon 3.0ghz XP Pro 2.5GB RAM

Cg Dream

Did you remember to clear out your config files and let LightWave make new ones?

casper37
07-15-2006, 05:24 AM
Hi

Powerbook 17" OSX 10.4.7 1 Ghz 1 Gig RAM - Lightwave 9.
Evertime I load an object in layout it crashes. I managed to load one of the scenes from the LW 9 content with objects, but when I loaded another object into that scene ...boom. I cleared out all the lightwave prefs also.
Now whats that all about?

casper37
07-15-2006, 06:21 AM
Cleared everything off and tried again ...still no joy ...maybe this is a clue, but what do I know. From the error report...

Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000000

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 hwrender9.shlb 0x01219d9c 0x1196000 + 540060
1 hwrender9.shlb 0x01201f78 0x1196000 + 442232
2 hwrender9.shlb 0x011eeffc 0x1196000 + 364540
3 hwrender9.shlb 0x011efa70 0x1196000 + 367216
4 hwrender9.shlb 0x011b8a00 0x1196000 + 141824
5 LightWave 0x004a153c 0x405000 + 640316
6 LightWave 0x004f45e4 0x405000 + 980452
7 LightWave 0x004f44a4 0x405000 + 980132
8 LightWave 0x004dbb80 0x405000 + 879488
9 LightWave 0x0050c518 0x405000 + 1078552
10 LightWave 0x0050bab4 0x405000 + 1075892

casper37
07-15-2006, 06:56 AM
Fascinating... turn the view to wireframe and lightwave can survive importing an object. Everything then appears to work. As soon as I change to any block texture preview style then layout falls over...

Bliz
07-15-2006, 06:55 PM
Sounds like a graphics driver issue to me. Can you update your video driver ? (don't own a mac so I don't know)

Engelbrite
07-15-2006, 07:04 PM
I had a similar problem, that it crashed whenever a smoothed surface was displayed. I messed with the OpenGL settings and everything is fine now. I'm not sure which setting is at issue but I'm using: Shading Method: MultitextureShaders, Geometery Acceleration: Streaming, and Transparency Sorting: SortByObject.

I hope this helps...

casper37
07-16-2006, 03:36 AM
Hey well done Peter... that worked a treat, the setting that was changed from default was the "Geometery Acceleration" which was set to buffering. Now on streaming, layout stays up. top tip.

Thanks mate

Thomas M.
07-16-2006, 09:40 AM
O.k., RC23 crashes constantly in the node editor. 20-30 crashes a day are normal. To call this anything like a Release Candidate is absurd and I'm pretty angry, as I constantly need to save my changes. Otherwise they could be lost in the next second.

Cheers
Thomas

CGDream
07-17-2006, 07:33 AM
Did you remember to clear out your config files and let LightWave make new ones?

Did that Chuck. I seem to be having an Open GL issue with LW 9. I can load a scene, render it, but moving the time slider or rotating a large demo scene results in a crash. Small scenes seem to work ok.

Duel Xeon 3.0ghz, XP Pro, nVidia Quadro FX 3400. Using latest nVidia drivers.

CGDream
07-17-2006, 07:53 AM
Also, moving a window, such as the texure editor will crash LW... sometimes.

Pavlov
07-17-2006, 07:58 AM
me too, already wrote this here... Modeler wont start, if not after a looooong time. Hub is the cause, but i need it.
so what can it be ?

Paolo

EDIT: i retried now and it seems to work. Strangely enough because i rebooted several times, reinstalled both LW and Sentinel drivers, tweaked videocard with no results - half a day of attempts.
Anyway i was clearly missing something, apologize if someone has moved for this.

julos
07-17-2006, 08:09 AM
Opened lightwave 9 three times, tested some demo scenes (occlusion, cel) and got 2 nasty crashes, the computer froze, had to reboot.

I'm going to try your settings Engelbrite.

edit: ok same as Casper and Engelbrite, it seems to work now (Geometery Acceleration: Streaming)

Emmanuel
07-26-2006, 12:03 PM
I only did some basic stuff so far, playing with Relativity, the nodes, some rendering, did some "mean" things in modeler like using the edge tools with "classic" SDS-objects, and so far no crash.

CGDream
07-27-2006, 04:36 AM
FYI I updated my NVidia Quadro 3400 drivers on my PC, LW9 totally work fine now! I might add that LW9 on my G5 Mac seems to be more stable then LW 8.5. Dare I switch to LW9 during mid project? :P

mkiii
07-27-2006, 10:54 AM
32bit version modeler seems pretty stable. EDIT: I take that back - it has now started running like a dog unless I disable the hub (no firewall running either). Sigh. Back to 8.5 & Modo for me.

XP64 Modeler64 freezes almost completely when hub running. Impossible to use. 8.5 modeler conversely runs absolutely fine with the same hub running.

32bit & 64bit Layouts run OK so far (no heavy use yet - since I have been using modeler almost exclusively).


4GB RAM, dual ATI 1900XTX / Crossfire Athlon 4800X2 WinXP Pro 64.
Latest drivers for gfx & dongle. previous version uninstalled & configs deleted.

paulhart
07-28-2006, 04:28 PM
I thought to try again... I have a simple scene for testing textures, trying to create some custom surfaces using the node editor. After consistant crashing, I off loaded anything but nodes for texturing, but this does not help. I was trying to play with the cool video that Proton put up, but I was disappointed when I realized the multiple images are only controlled through incidence relative to the camera, which limits it's usefulness. I was hoping the have it respond to light incidence to try some shading options.....
Anyway I try, after a several attempts to try different node choices, crashing, ten times so far in a half-hour, discourages my willingness to explore. Lightwave has been relatively stable in other regards, and no other program tool is crashing.
Paul

erikals
07-30-2006, 04:10 PM
Often having crashes as when deleting bones :/

spec24
07-30-2006, 07:52 PM
you gotta be kidding. This is an improvement over 8.5??? The scenes I'm working with I could work and work in 8.5, now in 9 I can't. I get a crash at least once an hour. Seems like I went back a step instead of forward.

now I can't even load a da** scene!

Eros
07-30-2006, 08:27 PM
It crashes so far only when deleting bones... nothing else ( so far )