PDA

View Full Version : Screw loose



DS613
05-23-2006, 11:15 AM
I have attached the object and scene files... the object in question is on layer 18 and is called TS Screw 4. Everytime I open up the scene file the object gets placed in this strange position... I move over to modler delete the object make a new layer save on same layer all sorts of things.. when I go back to lightwave it looks great. after I save and reopen the scene the screw gets placed back in this strage position...

Captain Obvious
05-23-2006, 07:05 PM
Is it the polygons that move within the layer or the item in Layout?

DS613
05-23-2006, 07:07 PM
The item moves in Layout

colkai
05-24-2006, 03:17 AM
Simple, you've altered the pivot point for this layer.
Put 'screw 3' layer in BkGrnd, put 'Screw 4' in FG.
Ctrl+F10 to see pivot - note where pivot is for Screw 4.
toggle layers so Screw4 in BG. Ctrl+F10 - note how pivot for Screw3 is at 0,0,0

go to Screw 4 layer, Ctrl+F10, 'n' for numeric, set all to zero, save object - it'll be correct then.

SplineGod
05-24-2006, 03:45 AM
Sounds screwy to me... :)

Edbittner
05-24-2006, 04:41 AM
Sounds screwy to me... :)
Zing! ( Actually, that was pretty bad Larry).
E.

SplineGod
05-24-2006, 05:23 AM
SORRY! :)
Cant....fight....good....opening....

DS613
05-24-2006, 09:38 AM
Colkai - you are my hero!!! Spline God sorry but you have now been demoted :)

colkai
05-24-2006, 12:13 PM
Hehe, ahem, errr no. :p
Got a LONG ways to go before I consider myself anywhere near Larrys level. :)

SplineGod
05-24-2006, 12:56 PM
I HATE when that happens.... :)