PDA

View Full Version : Vue5 Infinite export/import

InsaneRambo
05-22-2006, 02:58 PM
Im new to using these programs, but I am having problems getting my works onto Vue5 and then them working properly. Sometimes they are not visible and in the object selector it has a X on the name. Anyone know how to solve this please help me.

Silkrooster
05-22-2006, 10:09 PM
Hmmm. I have not run across that problem yet. But I do know that there are some lightwave objects that will not load into vue, mostly anything that is subpatched won't load.
What steps are you taking to get that problem. Some objects in vue are copyrighted and will not export, BTW.
Silk

dballesg
05-23-2006, 02:48 AM
Hi,

Vue doesn't import Lightwave objects correctly with several layers and UV's in more than one map :(

Best regards,
David

Hipcheck
05-23-2006, 07:50 AM
so basically, it's pretty much worthless eh? doesnt do subpatches, doesnt do multiple layers, doesnt do UV's... sheesh... what's left?

colkai
05-23-2006, 08:50 AM
Go the other way. There is a very nice tutorial on using LW and Vue which shows how to get some good results.

http://esnips.com/web/vue2lw-tutes

Oh, by "go the other way", I mean, import the landscape into Lw instead of exporting everything to Vue.

Hipcheck
05-23-2006, 09:29 AM
Hey thanks for that bit of info! Was starting to wonder wich table leg this CD was gonna level out.

dballesg
05-23-2006, 09:54 AM
Hi,

What Colkai suggest will alllow you only to import the terrain and its materials baked on images.

Vue Infinite DO NOT export the Ecosystems to Lightwave, the best way to go until they release a xStream version for Lightwave is the VueSynchro plugin to composite Lightwave and Vue renders, if you want to use the Ecosystem capabilities.

Best reagrds,
David

colkai
05-23-2006, 10:46 AM
Nope, it does not, but the front projection mapping trick in the tutorials means the end result looks as if the ecosystem is in place, which is all that really matters.