PDA

View Full Version : music while you work

Gyphon
05-22-2006, 02:05 PM
Okay, everyone listens to music while they work on their latest project, right? I just think it would be a little fun to talk about what music you listen to while you work. Myself, I am just getting into surreal art and listen to black sabbath, the heavy metal soundtrack etc. But while I work on horror themes I listen to harder music like manowar and even older manson and that kind. For scifi stuff I like classical.

oDDity
05-22-2006, 02:47 PM
Dunno, Richard Williams advice (which he got from Milt Kahl I think) is not to listen to music while animating,m becasue no one's smart enough to do the two things at once - that is, to actually concentrate on doing your CG work and concentrate on listening to the music as well.
I tend to agree from experience, I do put on music at times, but I find that the CD finishes and I realise I haven't actually heard a note of it.
I'm into opera and Rossini particularly ATM, but it's an injustice to do anything else while listening to it.

Puguglybonehead
05-22-2006, 02:48 PM
I usually listen to internet radio while I work. Electronic music (for electronic work). Usually the ambient stations or some deep-house or drum'n'bass. I like the sort of non-descript noise that puts you in a mood without demanding anything of your conscious mind. But when I'm sick of the electronic noise, Rockabilly Radio really hits the spot for fun work.

Gyphon
05-22-2006, 03:02 PM
Dunno, Richard Williams advice (which he got from Milt Kahl I think) is not to listen to music while animating,m becasue no one's smart enough to do the two things at once - that is, to actually concentrate on doing your CG work and concentrate on listening to the music as well.
I tend to agree from experience, I do put on music at times, but I find that the CD finishes and I realise I haven't actually heard a note of it.