PDA

View Full Version : Moving from Trinity to VT-Questions

rjayx
05-27-2003, 12:15 PM
Hi all,

I am a motion graphics designer/3D guy completely unfamiliar with both the Video Toaster and the Trinity Studio-in-a-Box systems. It is quite likely I will taking over a small live-broadcast video production department that currently uses an older Trinity system. I have no prior experience with live production, so I am very unfamiliar with switchers and live production systems, so please pardon my naive questions in advance. I have a lot to learn in a very short amount of time.

Although I am unfamiliar with the Trinity system, I do know that it was originally created by Play (who are no more) and is now owned by Globalstreams. I was told by the person whom I'd be taking over for that the Trinity could be upgraded for about $5,000. As a NewTek product user of Lightwave, I have been aware of the Toaster for a long time, but never had any reason to use one or any experience with one. However, if I end up taking this position, I would like to look into the possibility of replacing their old Trinity system with a Toaster system as opposed to shelling out $5,000 for a relatively obscure and outdated system. The department I would be taking over uses two cameras (an old high-end Sony and a Canon XL), a bunch of old VHS decks, a miniDV deck, an audio board, a couple of monitors, and the Trinity itself.

Can anyone tell me how a Toaster stacks up to a Trinity feature-wise? Would it be possible in any way to move their legacy files from the Trinity to the Toaster? What is the learning curve for a Toaster newbie for an After Effects/Lightwave guy? Any suggestions for turnkey Toaster systems that would be around $5,000? And finally, in terms of price, would a turnkey Toaster solution run more than the $5,000 it would cost to upgrade their Trinity? Moving to a Toaster would be heavily dependent on meeting or beating the cost of the Trinity upgrade. Thanks for all info.

Rick Jayx