PDA

View Full Version : Will something like FPrime ever be included in LW3D?



nelsonm
05-10-2006, 07:00 PM
Hi,

Will something like FPrime ever be included in LW3D?

Can FPrime take the place of a viewport?

The ability to get near instant rendering results is fantastic and the lack of it is one reason why I don't play with LW3D that often.

Captain Obvious
05-10-2006, 07:31 PM
What, VIPER isn't good enough for you?

;)

Anyway, I doubt it. If you want Fprime, just buy Fprime and be done with it.

RedBull
05-10-2006, 07:33 PM
No! it's highly unlikely that FPrime will ever be included in or with LW.

Can Fprime be made a viewport..... (Already does for me)
Could worley implement Fprime in a LW viewport himself, yes. the SDK would already allow for this.

Fprime certainly has a few advantages over any other preview or rendering, in terms of realtime ability, XSI's render region, is the only thing even close.

Note: Likely not needed to post this same message, in multiple forums.

hrgiger
05-10-2006, 08:13 PM
Will Fprime ever be included with Lightwave? I can't forsee that future, unless it's a bundle deal like buy two seperate apps for a reduced cost sort of thing.

VIPER will have to do if you can't afford Fprime.

mattclary
05-10-2006, 09:12 PM
Always shifting is the future. Always in motion, it is... :yingyang:

riki
05-10-2006, 09:41 PM
My guess is that it wouldn't a high priority, since a tool already exists.

nelsonm
05-10-2006, 10:30 PM
Thanks for the reply guys...

Viper a, Well... maybe NT should rename Viper to... "almost useless".:)

lilrayray77
05-11-2006, 04:38 AM
I wouldn't say vipper is useless. It may not be as good as Fprime but it still does the job. I use it all the time when working on HVs...

Meaty
05-11-2006, 07:55 AM
My guess is that as long as Steve Worley wants to support and develop FPrime, it will be a separate purchase. Perhaps when he moves on to greener pastures he will sell the app to Newtek.