PDA

View Full Version : Spotlights not staying put!

Nova L
05-26-2003, 05:56 PM
I'm very new to Lightwave 3D and I'm trying to learn as much as I can. Right now I'm following a tutorial on making a classic wine glass but I'm having troubles with the lighting! When I hit the "render current frame" or "Render scene" all the light and camera angles revert to where they once started. How do I make them stay in one spot? Can someone help me please?

ReAder
05-26-2003, 06:04 PM
Press enter to make a keyframe....

WizCraker
05-26-2003, 06:18 PM
Or turn Auto Keyframe on.

head worm
05-27-2003, 05:13 AM
Nova,

Previous posts are correct, although I suspect that you may need a little more background for them to really make sense, as you seem to be a beginner.

Adding keyframes is the basis of simple animation in Lightwave. If you make a change to any object or channel in Lightwave but haven't created a keyframe there, the change isn't recorded. It's a bit like recording into a tape machine that's in Play but not in Record. If you THOUGHT it was in record, you'd feel a little baffled by the lack of anything sounding on playback. Hitting the Record button is therefore a vital part of the process of recording.

There are two basic ways of adding keyframes and recording motion in Lightwave:

1. automatically when you change something
2. manually by hitting the 'RETURN' key and selecting specified channels.

You can change whether you want to 'Auto Key Create' within Lightwave's general options panel (hit 'o' key on the keyboard). There are a couple of self-explanatory options to choose from.

Auto Key Creating is the best way to ensure that you don't make lots of lovely animation changes without recording them. However, it can be a little destructive as it will change all your modified settings as soon as you make them. As Lightwave still doesn't have mutliple undos, this can be problematic when you decide that you preferred what you had before!