PDA

View Full Version : how do I do a tapering rail extrude?



vincent1
05-03-2006, 09:52 AM
Greetings,

I know how to rail extrude; but what I want is to taper the extrusion to a point (like making tentacles) at the end of the spline. Even better, I would like to scale the taper up or down along the extrusion (like doing sectioned piping).

Can lightwave natively do this?

MooseDog
05-03-2006, 09:58 AM
chk out magic bevel. it does just that, may or may not fit your exact needs tho. :goodluck:

Dodgy
05-03-2006, 10:15 AM
Use Rail extrude (multiple). Just have two rails(or more, up to 24) in the background and the rail extrude command will become the rail extrude multiple command.

peteb
05-04-2006, 04:32 PM
To be honest I try and stay away from those sort of tools unless you're making some precise stuff for mechanical or building work. I always use Sub patch as it's just so much faster and you can see things as you work instead of trying to pre guess what it's going to do.

I could be way off though as I have no idea what you're making, it's just that you mentioned Tentacles and if that is what you're making then I would definitley do that with sub patches. Horses for course of course :)

Pete B