PDA

View Full Version : DV Compression Happens When??

remnantpu
05-01-2006, 02:08 PM
I'm a newbie as this question will reveal, but I am a bit confused on uncompressed video and compression and all that fun stuff, so hopefully you can follow this question:

When I shoot footage on my z1u to tape is that footage compressed?

Is it compressed at all when it goes through the firewire to my HD?

What is considered lossless formats when working with all this?

Is there compression going from VT4 out to a HVR-M10u deck via firewire?

How come uncompressed footage takes up so much room, but the new FireStore FS-4 40GB can store 3 hours of footage?

Is there any other compression concerns I should watch out for?

And last but not least...Do we have a HD option in VT now? I heard it was going to be introduced at NAB?

robewil
05-01-2006, 02:42 PM
When I shoot footage on my z1u to tape is that footage compressed?Yes

Is it compressed at all when it goes through the firewire to my HD?Yes, but not any further. Going through firewire is just a transfer process.

What is considered lossless formats when working with all this?Uncompressed. In VT, it's usually an rtv file grabbed from an analog source or a rendered animation.

Is there compression going from VT4 out to a HVR-M10u deck via firewire?Yes.

How come uncompressed footage takes up so much room, but the new FireStore FS-4 40GB can store 3 hours of footage?3 Hours of uncompressed SD footage would take up about 225GB.

Is there any other compression concerns I should watch out for? As long as you capture, edit, and encode once, your edited video will have gone through only one uncompress/recompress cycle. If footage needs to be re-used, consider encoding your DV files to rtv (uncompressed)