PDA

View Full Version : Pen limit?



Pe6r0
04-27-2006, 05:27 PM
hi, I'm modeling a ionic column from a geometrical design, basically putting the image at the backgroud and "copying" it.. however I seem to have reached the maxed out the number of points allowed by the pen... any way to workaround this bit?

http://ic1.deviantart.com/fs10/i/2006/117/d/f/trthr_by_Absinto.jpg

I'm gonna try with fewer points, but I was about at 50% done, not sure I'll be able to pull it off without getting rough edges

Pe6r0
04-27-2006, 05:33 PM
http://ic1.deviantart.com/fs10/i/2006/117/d/f/trthr_by_Absinto.jpg

if you can't see the image

kruemel_1
04-28-2006, 05:33 AM
I've no permission to see the image.

There is a 1024 point limit per polygon. Start the next polygon.

BeeVee
04-28-2006, 06:49 AM
The limit has been increased to 16k ponts per poly, but the pen tool is limited to 100 points if you use the RMB, but the full amount if you use the LMB

B

JML
04-28-2006, 06:57 AM
yeah, I had the same problem a few days ago, the Pen tool can't make polygon with more than 100 points.
(that's with the left click, if you use the right click , it can add more but it won't "attach" it to the polygon..)

when I had to use the pen to trace big stuff, I did multiple polygons (each 100 points) and then joint them together..

I hope they will fix that bug.. 100 points is not much...

Pe6r0
04-29-2006, 06:08 AM
yeah I had to do the same on mine :)

thanks for all the input =)

I knew a polygon could'nt have more than 1024 points (ahh the joys of high point polygons :lwicon: ), that's why I thought it strange that the tool would'nt let me do more than 100.. Guess it's a internal thing :(

No point is using the RMB if you want a polygon and not just separate points :/

Silkrooster
04-29-2006, 05:15 PM
I have never tried creating that many points before. Usually with a curve like that I would use a spline instead.
Silk