PDA

View Full Version : Polygon Help

Teig
04-26-2006, 05:57 PM
I am fairly new to Lightwave (8.5 Windows) and could use a hand. I am having some type of smoothing problems. I have removed all 1 and 2 point points and polys and have verified that there are no overlapping points. The only thing I see that is odd is that some of the polys direction lines (the dotted line) isn't centered. Is this a problem?, and what are the likely causes? I could not find any info on the web or in the manual.

Sarford
04-26-2006, 07:07 PM
Funny, never seen that but then again, I don't give normals (thats how these dotted lines are called) much thought most of the time.
What's the actual problem your getting? Can you show some renders of it?
You could try to delete them (press k) and put them back in by hand...

Teig
04-26-2006, 08:29 PM
The polygons have been deleted by hand then replaced. I doublechecked there are no more than 4 points. I am getting that smoothing error in several places in the model.

Dexter2999
04-27-2006, 12:34 AM
You said it is a smoothing error. Is your smoothing at the default? Because that is often WAY WAY TOO HIGH. I find most of the time when I use smoothing the optimum setting is much closer to 20%. I used to get errors like the one you pictured all the time, then I got the 3d Garage training set and Dan Ablan revealed that setting is flawed.

Good Luck.

PS. I recommend his training materials highly.

toby
04-27-2006, 01:03 AM
I find most of the time when I use smoothing the optimum setting is much closer to 20%. I used to get errors like the one you pictured all the time, then I got the 3d Garage training set and Dan Ablan revealed that setting is flawed.