PDA

View Full Version : Should I really buy LightWave?

snickrep
05-25-2003, 03:20 PM
I have been saving up for a gamecube, but I think I can do with out it. My PS2 is enough for now. But should I really buy Lightwave? I am a beginner when it comes to 3D modeling. Don't know much. If I get lightwave, I am going to start off by doing low-poly stuff. I hear that lightwave is the easiest and cheapest compared to Maya and 3Ds max. But then I hear it is really hard to use and has a steep learning curve. Is Maya and 3Ds max easier to use than lightwave?

Aegis
05-25-2003, 03:33 PM
Interesting... where did you hear LightWave is difficult to learn?

Personally I think LightWave is the easiest to learn of all the currently available high-end 3D packages - here's why:

1. No icons - all tools are text buttons telling you what everything does.

2. Separate Modelling and Animation programs - keeps the two distinct areas apart and only presents you with the tools necessary for the job in hand.

3. Excellent toolset - pretty much everything you need is straight out of the box and many useful plugins are available free from www.flay.com (a great normal mapping plugin has just been added recently).

4. Great learning materials - OK, the manual is lousy but Dan Ablan's "Inside LightWave 7" is an excellent resource that every LightWave user should (and probably does) own. There's plenty of online tutorials, DVDs and videos available too.

5. This forum - I've yet to have a LightWave question that someone on this forum hasn't been able to answer.

6. You really need a 6? OK - buy a new LightWave 7.5 now and you'll get 8 for free when it's released!

'nuff said :)

electroNIX
05-25-2003, 05:35 PM
may I add:

7. The most friendliest and funniest bunch of users you can imagine!! I have yet to meet an a.. of Lightwave User... but I know I wont...