PDA

View Full Version : Creating seven wonders in 3D

Lindopski
04-22-2006, 02:29 PM
Hello all
I am currently studying Lightwave 3D 8 in University and I am mighty impressed with the package.
I have never done any 3D work at all before lightwave and we have only been through 15 or so lectures on the basic features and I foolishly decided to base my 2nd year project on Lightwave :) lol.
I took on the task of recreating the seven wonders of the ancient world using lightwave 3D.
I have so far got 5 out of the 7 models pretty much done, the Collosus of rhodes and the statue of zeus I have left till last because I am really not sure how to create characters.
I have made two low poly characters but they look fairly rubbish to be honest.
whilst playing with Lightwave I found saslite and I am now trying to add grass to some of my scenes which is great I am not sure what settings to use really to get 100% great looking grass but some is better than none, especially when we havent covered organics at all.
I wanted to make trees and a fountain but I cant find a good tutorial for them and I tried something called magic bevel but my tree made in it looks rubbish.
We only started Lightwave 3D in January so I am a total novice , but do you guys have any recommendations for me to make my scenes look better.
One thing in particular I find tough is making my scenery stretch to the horizon, I have for example a model of the Temple of Artemis , and to make my scenery I made a big massive box added colour played with it and deformed it a bit to look like land and then stuck my temple on the top with a bit of grass but to be honest it looks a bit rubbish and when I send it to lightwave from modeller my camera is always huge and difficult to zoom in on the now minute temple without dissapearing under the land.
Maybe you know of a few simple tutorials I could follow to improve my scenes.