PDA

View Full Version : Dongle-on-the-fly



GATOR
04-20-2006, 08:23 AM
I regularly go between my house and my studio with my laptop and my keychain of required dongles. But about once a week I forget to plug the dongle in and just dive into work. Of course, after I work on something for a while I try to save and am abruptly reminded that I am working in "Discovery" mode. Sliding the dongle in as an afterthought doesn't work.

Any tricks? I have saved out portions off the model to be under the 400 point Discovery limit and then just cut and pasted, but I was wondering if there was any "oh sure, just hold down command-R while pressing the ESC key with your nose" kind of solution.

In short, is there anyway to get LW to recognize that I have put my dongle in and let me save my work?

Thx!

WhiteBoy
04-20-2006, 09:18 AM
I don't know of any other solution aside from this (http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=2115) plugin. :)

GATOR
04-21-2006, 01:47 PM
Well, that would do the trick. Only problem is that it's for PC and I'm a Mac user. Thanks for the input, though.

Gator

xchrisx
04-23-2006, 06:52 PM
i made a small lscript which can check for the dongle when u startup modeler (doesnt work in layout). if your interested you can get it here (http://shallowabyss.com/user/3d/lscripts/donglecheck/index.html), and it should work fine with mac's since i dont compile anything.

-chris

GATOR
04-24-2006, 09:52 AM
Chris,

Thanks, it works perfect!

Gator