PDA

View Full Version : Displacement mapping in Modeler



bobakabob
05-24-2003, 11:03 AM
Help! I'm building a landscape and want to displace the geometry in Modeler using procedurals... I've done this before, I'm sure, with Morphmaps but can't remember how!

The manual and tutorials on the Newtek site mainly focus on
displacement mapping in Layout, but I'd like to have more control.
Can anyone help?

Cheers,

Rob

WizCraker
05-24-2003, 12:00 PM
I dont know if this is what you were looking for. But You can use weight maps for terrain like this (http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/games/quick_terrain/index.html) tutorial from Newtek on Terrain for games.

hcoat
05-24-2003, 12:48 PM
As for as I know displacement is only in layout, you then have to go to the file menu and choose "save transformed object" this will keep your object in it's new shape and allow you to edit it in modeler.

good luck

bobakabob
05-24-2003, 01:12 PM
Wizcracker - cheers, I checked that one out and it's a good tutorial.

hcoat, thanks, I'd not thought of that - good idea!

Hmm, I'm still convinced I once applied procedurals in Modeler to displace geometry...

Rob

Sven Pampel
05-24-2003, 04:27 PM
1 create a plane
2 make a new morph target
3 go to map / textured point...
4 set vmap type to morph target enter your created morph set the displacement axis
5 press texture and assign your procedurals

:D

Hope it helps

bobakabob
05-24-2003, 09:30 PM
Cheers, Sven - it worked! :)

SplineGod
05-24-2003, 09:40 PM
You can also use the airbrush in modeler to paint between endos.

bobakabob
05-25-2003, 05:15 AM
Thanks, Larry... could you elaborate? Is that for greater control?
Rob

Sven Pampel
05-25-2003, 05:27 AM
1 Create a plane
2 make a new morph and move the plane up to the max displacement height you want
3 switch back to base morph
4 select the airbrush tool and set the vmap of your morph
5 have phun painting :)

Sven