PDA

View Full Version : Geforce V. Quadro



David
04-14-2006, 06:36 PM
I know the Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB is just for video games but any one know if it would run Lightwave better than a Quadro FX 3000 256MB?
__________________

stevecullum
04-14-2006, 06:46 PM
Well as far as I know that geforce card has 24 pipes and that quadro has 12. Personally, I went for a 6800ultra because that chipset can be soft quadro'd to a fx4000, and actually gives better SPEC viewperf results than the real thing!

Captain Obvious
04-14-2006, 07:21 PM
Geforce, Geforce, Geforce.

stevecullum
04-14-2006, 07:29 PM
You sound like someone in the know. Have you used both with LW?

Am I gaining anything by running my 6800 as an FX4000?

Captain Obvious
04-14-2006, 07:37 PM
I've never used LW on a non-Mac, but... well... The Geforce and the Quadros are the same basic hardware. As you said yourself: you can softmod a Geforce into a Quadro. Even if there might be a performance difference between them in SPEC_viewperf or whatever, I've never heard a single Lightwave user say they got a performance increase from switching from a Geforce to a comparable Quadro.

Also, remember that the money that will buy you a mid-end Quadro will buy you a high-end Geforce. Sure, the FX 4500 might be faster than the 7800 GT at some things, but if you spend a certain amount of money (let's say $500) on a video card, the $500 Geforce will utterly butcher*the $500 Quadro.

David
04-14-2006, 11:38 PM
Thats what I thought I'll be Buying a Geforce soon:)

sculptactive
04-15-2006, 12:08 AM
You cannot convert the Geforce 7800/7900 PCI-e series to Quadro.

GeForce are better value but if you have the money I would always go for a Quadro (less LW issues), unless you want to play games

stevecullum
04-15-2006, 06:44 AM
You cannot convert the Geforce 7800/7900 PCI-e series to Quadro.

Very true. But the 6800Ultra and GT chipset works fine. How much faster the new 7800 and 7900 is in use, I have no idea, but at least with the 6800 you have options - Quadro or Geforce.