PDA

View Full Version : Adding Texture/material ..

Chris Goodiel
04-13-2006, 08:57 AM
Hello all,

This is going to be a very basic question for all of you and you might actually laugh when you read it but here goes.

I am completely new to Lightwave and I just wanted to mess around a bit. I created an object and want to apply a texture or material to the object, I have no clue how to do this. Alot of the 3-D programs I have messed with in the past have had a ton of "stock" materials to apply to things, I can't seem to find these in Lightwave.

Thank for you help in Advance,

Chris

kruemel_1
04-13-2006, 09:27 AM
with 'q' you can assign a surfacename to selected polygons. If nothing is selected all visible polygons will become this surface name. In the Surfaceeditor in modeler you can press F9 (F8 in layout) to get a list of presets. By doublclicking them they are assigned to the selected surface.

Chris Goodiel
04-13-2006, 11:24 AM
Hrm, I am not sure if I am doing the right thing but I am hitting the f9 key in modeler > surface editor and nothing happens for me.

I am on the mac version 8.5 infact I looked under the keyboard shortcuts and it says f9 is set to Preset shelf Open/close. I am wondering if maybe I don't have the files on my computer. but you would think something would happen even if nothing was there.

I thought it might be this keyboard I had but I disabled it's features for Modeler.

kruemel_1
04-13-2006, 11:56 AM
You can use the mouse thru Windows->Presets panel. And even if you don't have the presets installed, a empty preset panel only with the workspace dropdown appears.

zardoz
04-13-2006, 12:02 PM
I don't want to sound rude...but I think you should read the manual for 10 or 15 minutes and I'm sure you'll find that...

Or use the Help and go to "Surface: Change Surface" you'll find everything you need...

:phone_cal

Chris Goodiel
04-13-2006, 02:55 PM