PDA

View Full Version : Geforce6600GT into a QuadroFX540



peter66
04-09-2006, 11:19 AM
Hi, I've been running a P4 3.4 (overclocked to 3.74) with 4GB DDR2 RAM and a Geforce6600GT... so clearly the graphics card is the overall bottleneck in the system.

Looking to boost the performance I recently found that using the program RivaTuner I could rehash the system to detect the card as a QuadroFX540, I then downloaded the most recent Quadro drivers and voila, my very own Quadro with a very definite performance boost (in games anyway).

I'm sure it runs faster now because earlier on today I was trying to run the game "Oblivion" with the 6600GT drivers and it was very choppy even at 800x600 with no AA, after the Quadro conversion it was running much (much) smoother at 1024x768 with 2xAA.

Has anyone else sussed this one out?

And, can anyone elaborate on whether or not there's a performance boost in LW?

Cheers
Pete

A Mejias
04-09-2006, 07:04 PM
Hmm, I'd read the GeForce 6600 series could not be retuned.

Please post the links to the software.

Thanks,

peter66
04-09-2006, 07:41 PM
google + rivatuner = www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/:hey:

peter66
04-09-2006, 07:48 PM
Once you get into RivaTuner it isn't amazingly obvious so I'll just give a quick step by step of how I did it:

1) Open RivaTuner (V2.0 R15.8)
2) Under the "Main" tab, under "Target Adaptor", click the arrow next to customize.
3) Select "low-level system settings".
4) Click "install"
5) Next to "Graphics adaptor identification", change it to Quadro.
6) Apply.

Let me know how it goes!

Cheers

lots
04-09-2006, 09:47 PM
Out of curiosity, what were the drivers you had installed before you did this little softmod? It could very well be that the drivers were just out of date..

peter66
04-10-2006, 01:54 AM
Na I was using 84.21 which are the newest drivers... now using the newest quadro ones which are 81.67

sculptactive
04-10-2006, 05:32 AM
Does anyone know if you are able to convert a GeForce 7800GT to Quadro Card?
If you have were there any problems.

Thanks

Titus
04-10-2006, 09:43 AM
You can convert any Geforce into a Quadro.

sculptactive
04-11-2006, 01:06 AM
Titus
Thanks for the confirmation.

sculptactive
04-11-2006, 02:12 AM
Ok.

I followed peter66's steps to the letter. All seemed to be fine.

On reboot I tried to install the latest Quadro driver.
Unfortunately I got an error message. " No drivers found that are compatible with your setup"

Am going back to my original theory that the 7800 series cannot be converted

Sande
04-11-2006, 02:47 AM
I have not tested any Quadro-drivers recently, but at least in the past you did not get any performance boost in games with Quadro-drivers. Actually they were a bit slower... That was the main reason why I changed back to normal drivers from the Quadro-mod.

Benchmarking with Specviewperf showed some performance gain in many professional apps (even 400% in some cases) but at least for me Lightwave was not any faster.

Jure
04-11-2006, 03:30 AM
AFAIK you cannot turn cards that run on PCI-E into Quadro. You can only mod AGP ones. I've succesfuly modded 6800GT agp into FX4000.

You can find all info you need on http://forums.guru3d.com/

Ztreem
04-11-2006, 04:11 AM
I tried to convert my agp 6600GT to a quadro, but it seems that it's one of the newer version that could not be converted. :(

sculptactive
04-11-2006, 04:21 AM
AFAIK you cannot turn cards that run on PCI-E into Quadro. You can only mod AGP ones. I've succesfuly modded 6800GT agp into FX4000.

Arh my question answered. Thanks

Titus
04-11-2006, 09:06 AM
I have not tested any Quadro-drivers recently, but at least in the past you did not get any performance boost in games with Quadro-drivers. Actually they were a bit slower... That was the main reason why I changed back to normal drivers from the Quadro-mod.

Benchmarking with Specviewperf showed some performance gain in many professional apps (even 400% in some cases) but at least for me Lightwave was not any faster.

I have a Quadro 1000 and before tried the softquadro mod, I agree that you don't have any boost performance in games, but in DCC programs.

peter66
04-11-2006, 06:10 PM
you cannot turn cards that run on PCI-E into Quadro.
Mine's a Gainward 6600GT PCI-E (Dual DVI :D) and it converted to Quadro...