PDA

View Full Version : VC++ Express?

colkai
04-06-2006, 03:30 AM
Hi,
I've got a copy of VC++ Express 2005 which is (according to MS) free to register and I wondered if it was worth me doing so?
I'm only really interested in it if I can create plugins with the LW SDK using it.

So, in a nutshell, is it possible?

Lightwolf
04-06-2006, 04:42 AM
So, in a nutshell, is it possible?
Yes, it is. In a nutshell.

Make sure you install the Platform SDK as well (check out the MS on how to do that) and you should be all set.

I've been using it for 6 months now to develop LW plugins (even 64bit versions with a bit of trickery). Having an optimizing compiler for free is nice!

Cheers,
Mike

colkai
04-06-2006, 05:09 AM
I've selected just the core SDK and debugger (X86 only as I'm non-64 bit). Is this going to be enough?

Lightwolf
04-06-2006, 05:19 AM
I've selected just the core SDK and debugger (X86 only as I'm non-64 bit). Is this going to be enough?
That should be enough. You don't need the debugger since MSVC++ Express already includes a 32bit debugger.

This link should help you install the PSDK: http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/visualc/usingpsdk/

Cheers,
Mike

colkai
04-06-2006, 06:10 AM
thanks! :) i'll have a read whilst i'm on me lunch break.

Elmar Moelzer
04-06-2006, 06:12 AM
Hey Michael!
How did you get it to do 64bit compiles?
CU
Elmar

Lightwolf
04-06-2006, 06:13 AM
thanks! :) i'll have a read whilst i'm on me lunch break.
Well, most of the work is finding the proper files and editing them.

then again, I've done it on three machines so far, and it actually works ;)

Cheers,
Mike

Lightwolf
04-06-2006, 06:24 AM
Hey Michael!
How did you get it to do 64bit compiles?
CU
Elmar
You need the 64bit PSDK which includes it, and set a couple of environment variables and then start MSVC++ from a batch file.

Let me just look for the link... can't find it, sorry.