PDA

View Full Version : Proton visits BOXX!



WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:32 AM
I had a fun trip out to Austin yesterday where I was able to spend some quality ime with the great team at BOXX.

http://www.boxxtech.com

If you haven't checked out their killer 3D workstations your truly missing out!

Say "Cheesito" :

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:32 AM
I thought I had died and gone to heaven when I saw this wall of Boxes:

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:33 AM
Getting to run LW on a BOXX system is a dream!

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:34 AM
and back in the top secret area of BOXX's headquarters I got to see where the magic happens.....

can't you see the sheer excitement in my eyes!:D

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:36 AM
John shows his BOXX pride....

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:37 AM
The man with the plan....Ed caught in the act of working like a dog!

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:38 AM
What's with all these monkeys at the BOXX office...Eric seems a little too happy..

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:38 AM
ahhhh....so this is why....

WilliamVaughan
05-22-2003, 08:40 AM
This is the first web guy that I have met that has a dual monitor setup.....what a sweet setup! Lucky bastard:p

Kelly Dove
05-22-2003, 09:19 AM
It was a blast having you here! Come back and visit any time!

Hervé
05-23-2003, 12:44 AM
Hey this is my machine !! I just have two questions... I have now 2GB ram in mine (dual AMD Win 2000) but I have a hard time with large renders (like 2500x2000, 70MB objects, 200MB image maps), basically it says not enough memory buffer.... or maybe shadow designer is very "gourmand...."

(note. I have to render this image in one pass, I am using Shadow Designer 2.0)

I have been told Win2000 does not support 2gb ram, so I dunno.... it recognize the ram when I bootup... and in LW in the "w" stats....

but the problem I have is that (in the stats) the page file ALWAYS says 0k, why ??

Last I have problems with open GL (Nvidia quadro750XGL) large texture..... a 80MB small image is OK, but the same 80MB, but large, let's say 10,000 pixels, crash....

Now for the good, Boxx computer are really good machines, mine is ON 24 hours a day, I basically never turn it OFF, No heat.... I really dont regret my hard earned money...

BTW I am using 7,5c

Cheers....
( I may buy one of those new opteron.... he he)

Beamtracer
05-23-2003, 01:08 AM
Maybe Proton will one day have sheer excitement in his eyes when he sees a Mac

WilliamVaughan
05-23-2003, 07:20 AM
I think MACs are good as well...but I have yet to find one that is faster then my BOXX system....but the 17" Laptop that they make is killer....I would trade it for my Dell Laptop in a heart beat :)

SplineGod
05-26-2003, 12:19 AM
I think Proton will have a look of sheer disbelief if he ever sees a Mac perform as well for the money. :)

pixelmonk
05-28-2003, 06:26 AM
I used a Boxx workstation on the government contract I just came off from. It was a dualie 2.2 w/2 gig of Ram and a 950XL card w/2 NEC 18" LCDs. The *beep*'r screamed!!! The only downside to the machine was having to use an "old" Matrox DigisuiteLE. I helped install a Toaster2 in that system a couple weeks ago. It runs like a charm. It's a shame I won't be there to use it, and this Alienware system I'm on at the company site won't be used once I start on a new contract. I'll be Toaster-less and quite possibly Lightwave-less at work!!!!!! I do have LW at home so that'll give me my fix.

I'll have to see what's going on at the new job site. If I have a bit of flexibility at the new job with regards to purchases, I'll recommend a Boxx workstation without blinking. Less than one week till I start on that contract and I still don't know what they're using nor do I know what my job will be!!! <searching for my winning lottery ticket>

Matt
05-28-2003, 06:32 AM
Herve, sweet setup in that room, looks very restfull with the subdued lighting!

mattclary
05-28-2003, 09:04 AM
No friggin doubt, herve! I keep trying to talk the wife into letting me put hardwood or tile in the office (we have it everywhere but the "bedrooms"), rolling across carpet sucks. I'm envious of your huge desk!

Hervé
05-28-2003, 10:56 AM
Lighting is the key and you're right, I remove that damn carpet a while ago, but I did not pay attention ... to my wheels, .... better put GUM wheels instead of me... hard plastic.... lokk the floor under the seat...

I made the desk.pretty simple but good enough..

Thanks for comments

so how much Ram LW can handle...?
(I know , maybe a stupid question)

I have e-mailed to M. Brad Peebler and he looking for with M. Alllen Hastings apprently.... we'll see....

WilliamVaughan
05-28-2003, 11:12 AM
Deuce uses 2 gig but I don't know of any limit