PDA

View Full Version : Problems with shadows (or something else)



trancemasterx
03-31-2006, 07:27 PM
First of all, I'm very new to the world of 3D modeling thing so this might be a very simple issue.

Anyways, I was trying to model a house. After a few hours I thought it would be nice to see how the thing would look like rendered. That's when I noticed a lot of noise in the shadows on one of my "roofs". Any idea how this happened?

I've tried different angles on the light and the camera, but the spots are still there.

http://img304.imageshack.us/img304/4447/error2eg.jpg

Any ideas? :stumped:

I'm using LightWave 3D 8

kruemel_1
03-31-2006, 10:54 PM
Looks like double poly's to me. In Modeler select one roofpoly in a shaded viewport, look in the info ("i") to be sure you have only on selected, and delete it.
So, if you have double polys you can try:
- In modeler use Detail->Polygon->More->Unify Polys. It should tell you how much polys have been removed.
- undo the deleted poly, select it again, Select connected ("]"), cut them out ("^X"). If the geometrie still exists you have removed your double ones.
- if you bought the LW9 preorder you can use "Fix Polygons 2" from LW-CAD.

trancemasterx
04-01-2006, 03:02 AM
It was as you said, a double poly. Excellent.

I have no idea why that happened, though. I used the extrude tool on the triangle... Oh well, at least now I know what to look for next time that happens.

Thanks a lot!