PDA

View Full Version : Introduction - new forum member

Mark Biasotti
03-29-2006, 07:13 AM
Hello,
Hello LW users,

My name is Mark Biasotti. This is my first entry to this forum. I have been using LW for about 4 years and have been lurking in this forum occasionally these past 4 years.

I am a Product Manager for SolidWorks, a MCAD software product used by Mechanical and Industrial designers. We have approx. 450K users worldwide. My job is to manage the core product, that is, everything that has to do with modeling and rendering.

Previous to my 18 months with SolidWorks, I work for 16 years with IDEO, an internationally recognized design and engineering firm. It is with them that I first started to use LW when IDEO designers required a higher level of rendering and animation than the prevalent ID and MCAD packages (ProEngineer, Alias, Rhino and SolidWorks) could offer. I had the pleasure of creating several animations of products for IDEO designers using LightWave.

I am not big on modeling in LW, mainly because SolidWorks is so much better at it when it comes to consumer product design. In defense of LW, CPD is not its forte’. Because I build models in SolidWorks and import them to Lightwave, my main struggles are getting from SolidWorks to LW (NURBS to Mesh) with a clean tessellated mesh. I have not seen anyone produce a translator that can do this well. Npower Software’s translator for 3DMAX comes the closest.

I think LW is an awesome product and my favor plug-in is Fprime.

My biggest “how to” question is: how do you get a realistic hand-held camera shake affect like they accomplish in BattleStar Galactica? I can tell you how its done on MAX: I rig the camera controls to my joystick then just auto-key frame the shot using my joystick. It’s very effective and easy to setup in MAX.

Mark

Ztreem
03-29-2006, 08:17 AM