PDA

View Full Version : Looking for support with bridging to 3dmax

Johnsongraphix
03-28-2006, 10:05 AM
I've been using Lightwave almost daily for about 3-4 years. I am working with 3d max users and directing them the best I can without knowing much about Max. The two 3d apps seem like the same thing to me with different naming convintions. I like LW and I don't think I should have to change my 3d app of choice. Yet my problem is:

When I import .3ds models some of the pieces of the object are shifted or offset. For instance If I import a .3ds chimney the chimney cap would be offset from where it should be on the chimney. I understand that idealy the chimney and the cap should be all one mesh, but the cap was created seperately and it's not.

Has anyone else run into these issues, or does anyone have suggestions for working with 3dmax users and in translating info back and forth?

MicroMouse
03-28-2006, 10:35 AM
There is a key frame data section in the 3DS files.

For some 3DS files, the rotations, scaling and translations from the first key frame are used to position all the meshes correctly. I think this is the correct operation for the original version of the 3DS file format.

For some 3DS files, if the data from the first key frame is used the meshes will not be positioned correctly.

There does not appear to be any flag set in the 3DS file to indicate which method of converting the file should be used.

If you are on a Windows PC, download AccuTrans 3d from http://www.micromouse.ca/

Use the "File->Open With Options" menu command to open a dialog box. There is check box there called "Use 3DS Key Frame". Either the checked or unchecked state should position the meshes correctly.

If you have any questions or problems, you can email me directly at
[email protected]

Wayne

Johnsongraphix
03-28-2006, 12:10 PM