PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know if I can mix the CPU in LW 8 or upcoming LW 9

SP00
03-27-2006, 10:31 PM
I'm just wondering if I should be rendering with the spare computers I have at home. I remember, the past versions, you can't mix CPU types or even different CPU speed, because it will produce slightly annoying different looks. I don't know if Newtek has fixed this issue with LW 8.5 or are they going to fix it in LW 9. I really don't want to buy a bunch of computers with the same exact cpu in speed and type, that would be very expensive and my old computers will become worthless. Any info is appreciated. Thanks.

stevecullum
03-28-2006, 08:34 AM
As far as I was aware, as long as the processors are of the same type then there wont be a problem. But to be safe set up a test scene. I'm new to screamernet today and I'm finding my own share of issues - like not saving files!

SCS5
03-29-2006, 09:55 AM
I've been using Screamernet with different CPU's & speeds (Dual Xeons,P4 & P2's) for years with no problems. There were some memory & processor usage issues on the render node PC's though.

SP00
03-29-2006, 11:29 AM
that is good news, but one of my old computer that I like to work with Screamernet is an AMD processor, I currentely use a dual Xeon. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with that. If the difference is too subtle to be noticed, then it shouldn't be a problem.

bgraves44
03-29-2006, 11:50 AM
I've got 9 machines - a P3, mostly P4's and two AMD, 3 of them laptops with all kinds of differing memory etc. and I've never noticed any difference. I haven't done too many animations at this point, though, but the ones I have done look fine. I'm using LW8.5

B Graves

jeremyhardin
03-29-2006, 12:21 PM
PRE9, you'll mainly get problems with HV's, radiosity grain, some shaders, and some procedural stuff. Things like these that are calculated by the cpu will have varying results, due to different handling of these tasks.