PDA

View Full Version : Newtek- Keep your eye on Devry...

hrgiger
03-15-2006, 12:21 PM
Where I go to school, DeVry, just recently started a new bachelors program in game simulation and programming. (Here's a link: http://biz.yahoo.com/bw/060306/20060306005840.html?.v=1 ) I'm in Ohio, and as far as I know right now, only the Irving Texas campus is offereing the program. But since Newtek is there in Texas, I thought they might want to keep their eyes on the school. I'm sure there won't be any graduates for at least a couple of years from now but they could look for possible interns in that program.

Kurtis
03-15-2006, 02:48 PM
Hmm. Interesting news. Thanks for the tip.

ACLOBO
03-16-2006, 12:05 AM
Westwood College has a Game Art and Design program. Their app of choice is 3dMax. I know this because I was an instructor there for the past two years. I landed the job because I knew how to model and texture map - but was always looked at funny when they found out my work was done in Lightwave.

Newtek should be a little more aggressive in approaching schools that are teaching these fresh young minds. Out of all my students, only about 2 or 3 knew about lightwave. But even those were soon engrossed in their 3dsmax classes and lightwave was only a fleeting memory for them.

:stumped:

-Adrian

DiedonD
03-17-2006, 06:57 AM
Westwood College has a Game Art and Design program. Their app of choice is 3dMax. I know this because I was an instructor there for the past two years. I landed the job because I knew how to model and texture map - but was always looked at funny when they found out my work was done in Lightwave.

Newtek should be a little more aggressive in approaching schools that are teaching these fresh young minds. Out of all my students, only about 2 or 3 knew about lightwave. But even those were soon engrossed in their 3dsmax classes and lightwave was only a fleeting memory for them.

-Adrian