PDA

View Full Version : noob question re: alpha images



virgil_disgrace
03-02-2006, 04:32 PM
Hi guys! Quick question: is there a file type that I can render to that will have an embedded alpha channel? Before you answer, yes, I know that Targas have alpha channels, but I don't know how to use that in Photoshop. It's been a while since I've worked with Lightwave so I can't remember how I used to do this. I just want an image with a transparent background without having to manually subtract it myself.
Any tips? Thanks in advance!!
::v_d::

Dexter2999
03-02-2006, 07:23 PM
When you go into photoshop where you see the LAYERS tab. Look next to it and you will see one labeled CHANNELS. You will find the Alpha channel there.
Otherwise try PNG as your extension.

Silkrooster
03-02-2006, 11:05 PM
If you are using Photoshop, then why not psd? It has an alpha.
Silk