PDA

View Full Version : Noob question with regard to imported .ai files

jhopfenblatt
03-02-2006, 03:11 PM
Alright, so I'm a complete LW noob (and I'm working with LW7 in case this could have an effect on the type of answer I'm given), but I made this illustration in illustrator and imported it to LW as polygons:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v467/Comatosis/pathface3.jpg

Now, my goal is to make an actual face out of it (as in, have the correct curvature and what not). Is there some relatively simple method of accomplishing this beyond editing point by point? I've tried using the magnet tool in the past and it drives me insane (keep in mind I'm a complete newb to 3d modeling), and spline modeling hasn't given me very favorable results in the past either.

Any information is appreciated, thanks a lot.

Lightwolf
03-02-2006, 03:24 PM
Hm, (if I got you right), I'd start by moving goups of polygons in Z (depth) to try to get the third dimension set as a first step.

Then move on from there an connect the polygons manually (if needed).
If you want to keep the white areas as not modelled you'll probably have to re-build using subdivision surfaces or splines...

Cheers,
Mike

jhopfenblatt
03-02-2006, 03:30 PM
Well, I want the face to remain the same (broken up, or however you want to describe it...I guess it'll kinda look like a weird mask of sorts). As for setting the depth, all I did at one point was extrude the polys, but the overall shape of everything is still flat and I want each "section" to be curved.

Man, I'm having a hard time describing this. :(

jhopfenblatt
03-02-2006, 03:34 PM
If you want to keep the white areas as not modelled you'll probably have to re-build using subdivision surfaces or splines...

I guess that's more what I was asking. Is there a tool that lets you make splines out of polys? I tried importing the .ai as splines, but LW was acting screwy on that one (I have a 1.8 Ghz processor so everything runs quite slow).

Lightwolf