PDA

View Full Version : Help! Cannot Load External Plugins...

teremo
02-28-2006, 08:02 PM
Hello everyone,

I have just purchased the Education version of Lightwave 3D. I am kind of new to 3D modeling in general, so I am sure a lot of people on here know a lot more than me... :D

However, I am running into a bit of a problem here with Lightwave 8.5 for PC.

In Layout, whenever I choose FILE, Open, the following error message pops up:

"Cannot Load external plug in file <...\plugins\input-output\ ...etc...>"

The "Cannot Load external plug in file appears very often, on many commands that I press.

I tried to uninstall then re-install. It works for a few hours without problems, but after that it goes back to giving me the same errors.

What do you think this is caused by?

I have the dongle USB connected to the USB port and everything in place, registered and all..

Help! :help:

Thank you!

Teremo
A Lightwave student.

dgon64
02-28-2006, 09:09 PM
I don't know about any limitations with the educational version but normally you need to manually add all your plug-ins. Under Utilities, choose either Add Plug-ins or Edit Plug-ins then scan the Plug-in and legacy_plug-ins folders to add them. They should show up under Additional.

Silkrooster
03-01-2006, 05:30 PM
Interesting, maybe a corrupt config file. Below is instructions for resetting plugins.
Silk

Instructions for resetting plug ins and menu options.

1. Locate your config files they should be at C:\Documents and Settings\user name or do a search for *.cfg. This search will find all files on your hard drive that has the cfg extention.
The config files have a name and a number for the version of lightwave you are using. Ex. Lightwave version 8+ will have the following config files. LW8.CFG, LWHUB8.CFG, LWEXT8.CFG, LWM8.CFG.
These four files can safely be deleted. Note: Any customization you did will no longer exist.

2. Start Layout