PDA

View Full Version : Stupid modeler question...



gareee
02-28-2006, 12:39 PM
I have a model, and I want to select speifically surfaced polys down the z axis, and stretch them on the z axis, but relative to each poly, rather then the enitre length of the selection.

Brain fart.. anyone remember what tool you use for this?

(In other words, each poly gets shorter "z", but the entire selection does not get shorter "z")

Cougar12dk
02-28-2006, 12:44 PM
If I'm reading this right..........then you could place the stretch tool between th to polys you want to size up/down.

But I'm not exactly sure what you mean. Can you post a picture?

gareee
02-28-2006, 12:57 PM
I'm selecting like 40 groups of polys spaced along a length.

Multishift does something like what I need to do, but it of course adds polys, which I don't want to do.

not sure how to attache an image. do you have to link to one stored on the web?

Cougar12dk
02-28-2006, 01:01 PM
If you click the post reply button, then in the next page, if you scroll down the page a bit, there's a box where you can attach images :)

gareee
02-28-2006, 01:03 PM
Here's a pic

gareee
02-28-2006, 01:04 PM
The attachement window wasn't popping open..

Cougar12dk
02-28-2006, 01:10 PM
Smooth Scale under Modify tab, there's a transform tab in the side console in which you can enter a numeric distance to shift the polys.

Does that help you?

bluerider
02-28-2006, 05:14 PM
Don't know if it help him, but it helped me.

Thanks

Cougar12dk
03-01-2006, 12:13 AM
No worries :)