PDA

View Full Version : Naming objects



Icetray
05-18-2003, 07:37 PM
How do you name objects? I tried messing around with layers and I couldn't find anything.

uberslayer™
05-18-2003, 08:27 PM
The lightwave interface for that sort of thing is totally simple and intuitive..................................not.

You have to hold down ctrl & shift then right click on a view port. A menu appears. Follow this path, modeler/windows/layer browser open. (short cut is shift F5) then you just double click on a layer to reneame it.

So obvious I bet you wonder how you didn't find it already?

Icetray
05-18-2003, 09:22 PM
Well that was what I'd managed to do but when I went to the surface editor to give the polygons some radiosity they weren't there.

See what I'm trying to do is design a ship. And I'm trying to make the engines glow.

uberslayer™
05-19-2003, 08:16 PM
Right, now I see what you mean you are not trying to name the layers. You want to assign names to groups of polys. First select a group of polys then press "q" on yer keyboard. This will bring up the interface for assigning names to sufaces.

Icetray
05-19-2003, 09:40 PM
Thanks that did the trick.

uberslayer™
05-19-2003, 09:53 PM
Glad to be of service. If you end up with something you like post it so I can have a look.

Icetray
05-20-2003, 03:48 PM
I dont know how to post pictures on this board.