PDA

View Full Version : hi-res textures in LW8



PJV
02-27-2006, 02:30 PM
I'm trying to use a hi-res earth texture map in order to zoom into certain geographic areas, but the texture is so large (385M) it locks up my LW surface window. Any ideas how to either maximize memory on the video card (NVidia Quadro FX 3400/4400 256m RAM), or bypass it and use the system memory (windows - PC) - or any other suggestions welcome.
thanks

MrWyatt
02-27-2006, 02:32 PM
this is pretty much your only solution
http://www.db-w.com/content/view/55/93/

SaturnX
02-27-2006, 02:38 PM
The 32bit version of lightwave, currently uses 2gig of ram.. maximum.
Same goes for most other 32bit apps... a limitation of 32bit in general so im led to believe. So texture memory, and useage of... is fairly limited, at least with very large texture maps.

A 64bit version of lightwave, with 'ample ram'... would probably allow you to acheive what you want though.

Infinimap Pro is probably your only solution... for now.
http://www.db-w.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=55

MrWyatt
02-27-2006, 02:42 PM
also usually even with 2GB of ram LW loves to crash when you have more than 200 MB of textures in the scene.

SaturnX
02-27-2006, 02:53 PM
Yeah, i've noticed that myself in the past.

Lightwave doesnt seem to like large textures... even if the image editor says its only got a collective total of 2-300mb of imagery...
Maybe image memory, and lw memory management will be better in lw9.

Who knows.

Lightwolf
02-27-2006, 04:11 PM
Wow... :D

If you have any questions regarding infiniMap Pro feel free to PM me.

You could also try a palette based image file format, like IFF, using a palette of 256 different colours.

Cheers,
Mike

Edit: P.S. The RAM on you gfx board has nothing to do with it really. LW scales down textures for openGL usage (only) to a maximum of 1024x1024 pixels anyhow.