PDA

View Full Version : mac 3D animation software

snickrep
05-18-2003, 01:46 PM
Hello,
I am pretty new to the 3D world. I know this a lightwave board and it is most likly people will say to get lightwave, but I just want a honest suggestion. I am interested in purchasing a low budget or education 3D package for my mac. My budget is around $350 or below, yeah I know pretty cheap. I just want the basic package with animation tools, good ing tools, UV mapping, etc. I want to start off by doing low-poly game s before I do high-poly s. I am very interested in game development and working with a game engine. From the list below, which would be best for me?

Animation Master: 2003 ( does the academic license expire?)

PiXELS 3D

Maya 4.5/5 ( does the academic license expire?)

Cinema 4D XL 8 ( does the academic license expire?)

Lightwave 3d 7 ( does the academic license expire?)

Electric Image Universe ( does the academic license expire?)

if there are any other tools that would be good for me that I did not mention, than please let me know.

Jack

snickrep
05-19-2003, 02:55 PM
bump

Psyhke
05-19-2003, 05:03 PM
I don't know too much about what you're asking, but I do know that the cool thing with LW's academic license is that 1) it doesn't expire (as far I understand it), and 2) you can upgrade that license to a full commercial license by simply buying the upgrade to whatever is the current version, which is lately only about another $395, and 3) there is no functional difference between student version and commercial version.

WizCraker
05-19-2003, 05:05 PM
Originally posted by snickrep
Animation Master: 2003 ( does the academic license expire?)

Jack [/B]

For Animation Master: 2003 visit Hash Website (http://www.hash.com/)

Maya 4.5/5 ( does the academic license expire?)
For Maya 5 visit Alias/Wavefront Website (http://www.aliaswavefront.com)

Cinema 4D XL 8 ( does the academic license expire?)