PDA

View Full Version : Dynamics help



prospector
02-22-2006, 01:23 PM
can someone that knows dynamics (cloth collisions and such), check this scene and explain why it doesn't work?
Ball should be moving cloth, with cloth hanging back down after pass.

Thanks

I usually do particles and such but after 3 hours with this cloth, I'm stuck

jeremyhardin
02-22-2006, 01:50 PM
i removed your cloth and went to default to figure it out.

after doing this, i got it moving by not fixing the weight map, and by changing the subpatch order from after motion to last. after motion and after displacements will prevent it from working.

that said, when i went back to your settings and changed the above, it still didn't work. must be your numbers too. here are the cloth settings i used (defaults with collision turned on basically)

prospector
02-22-2006, 02:03 PM
HMMMM this is what I got.
FX_MotionDrive
ver 2
<non>
<default>
0
0 0 0 0.01
1 100 1 1 0 0
0 1 0 0 0 1 1 0
0 0.5 1 1 0 1
0.01 1 0 0 0 1 0 0
{ VariantParameter
3
0
{ ParameterValue
1
0
}
}
<non>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<all>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<non>
<all>
{ VariantParameter
3
0
{ ParameterValue
1
0
}
}
<non>

And this goes where?

Celshader
02-22-2006, 02:05 PM
ClothFX->File->Load (not "Load Motion") will let you load the settings contained within that text file onto your ClothFX object.

prospector
02-22-2006, 02:18 PM
Ahh, kept pounding motion button :foreheads

prospector
02-22-2006, 02:20 PM
Nope, doing nothing when loaded to cloth
tried ball and got elligal format

jeremyhardin
02-22-2006, 03:35 PM
did you calculate after you loaded it?

prospector
02-22-2006, 03:59 PM
yep, first thing.

sometimes it shows points moving, sometimes the poly lines, mostly nothing moves now

jeremyhardin
02-22-2006, 04:11 PM
when you loaded the settings, did you change the subpatch order from after motion to last? after motion and after displacements will prevent it from working.

Also, are you Fixing anything? because that was preventing it from working as well.

prospector
02-22-2006, 04:18 PM
tried it on anothere compy and is working :thumbsup:
now gotta get it to more like slide over ball instead of being *blown* (what it looks like)

Dodgy
02-23-2006, 03:36 AM
Doh, you had START BY EVENT ON! Turn that off for it to do something, or change the ball to event collision type (though it won't actually collide with it in that case and you'll need another collision object)

And to slide over, reduce the radius in your collision object.
:)