PDA

View Full Version : new Intel based macs?

vrolfak
02-21-2006, 08:52 AM
I´ve seen that the software for the new intel based macs is diferent than that for the previous macs, so the question is:

Will the mac version of Lightwave 7.0/7.5 install in the new intel based macs? or do i have to wait for an upgrade to come out, or another version or something.

the thing is that the Collegue in which i work as a teacher. (3D animation, Lightwave 7.5) is looking to buy a new laboratory, but we have the problem that the software we have now, doesn´t work in the new intel based macs, and thats why they havent bought the new computers yet. I know that some Software need to make a new version for the intel based macs, but Lightwave, being a native of amiga, wich went to PC and then to Mac, i was wondering what will happen there.

Will we have to wait for LW 9.0 Mac to come out? and will LW 9.0 be for the new intel based macs or will it be for the previous.?

Thanks a lot for your time...

Darth Mole
02-21-2006, 10:52 AM
Before LW can be made to work natively on the new Intel Macs, NewTek needs to move its development over to XCode, which will enable it to produce 'universal binaries' which will run on both Power G4/G5 and Intel-based Macs.

Currently, this move is in progress, but there is plenty of work to be done. NewTek's priority, rightly, is to make LW run smoothly and stably on existing machines, although there is some consternation among LW Mac users that it might be some time before LW runs natively (ie, not under emulation) on these new machines.

So LW 9.0 will NOT work natively on Intel-based Macs. This is NT's current statement:

"NewTek is in progress on a port to XCode so that we can provide Universal Binaries to support both PPC and Intel-based Macintosh computers. We will discuss this in more detail as the process unfolds."

Older versions of LW will install and run, but under an emulation layer - termed Rosetta - which means slowly. If at all.