PDA

View Full Version : Win Xp Sp2



TRCC
02-15-2006, 04:21 PM
I know there is info on this forum about XP SP 2, but its old, Running VT4.5/6 and IT guy says need to install SP 2 on our machine, is it ok to run Win XP SP2 or no?

Thanks,
luke

Pete Draves
02-15-2006, 04:25 PM
I just put it on 2 of my toasters and some very minor problems actually went away.
All of the newer machines with 800 fsb and pci express MUST have sp2. Yours should run fine.
Pete

Ivan
02-15-2006, 04:56 PM
I thought that I read somewhere the SP2 was preferred for VT4.6.

Ivan

John Perkins
02-15-2006, 05:51 PM
It is developed and tested on SP2, so it shouldn't be a problem.

TRCC
02-15-2006, 05:56 PM
awesome, would I need to do a reinstall or anything after updating or theoretically should the VT[4] be ok?

Thanks,
Luke

donny
02-15-2006, 07:08 PM
Sure you can install spk 2 without having to reinstall VT4...:thumbsup:

Liber777
02-15-2006, 09:23 PM
There are multiple firewire issues with SP2. I'm using a third-party driver for Firewire-800, so I got around the speed issue. The Microsoft fix only got me from 100mbit to 400mbit. Unibrain/ubCore got me to 800mbit again.

I'm now having issues with FW-800 drives dropping (delayed write issue) after applying SP2, but I haven't implemented the Microsoft fix for that yet. It's not a normal download from their site as you have to request it. Luckily we have MSFT Premiere support and have the hotfix.

John Perkins
02-16-2006, 07:29 AM
So YOU're the one that owns a 1394b device! :D

With so few FW800 devices to test with, it's no big surprise that Windows has trouble with them. FW400 has been very stable for quite some time now though.

I've got a 1394b controller, but I still haven't found a use for it yet. Nothing I need can connect to it. :(

Pete Draves
02-16-2006, 09:02 AM
I have setup quite a few of these 800 fw on VT's here. They have always worked best in 64 bit slots, shared with the other raid controller. I have allways used the manufactures drivers. these have had to be upgraded with a service pack change.

They have worked very well.
regards
Pete

Jim_C
02-16-2006, 09:10 AM
Yea we use FW800 drives also. The systems are offline so I have always just kept them at SP1 and manufactured drivers. Seem to be OK.

Liber777
02-16-2006, 04:44 PM
So YOU're the one that owns a 1394b device! :D

Yeah, I'm THAT guy...! heh

My VT system has two local U-160 raid arrays (11 drives total), three 500GB FW800 rackmount drives, and two 1.2TB FW800 drives for backup and semi-online files.

Things were running smoothly on SP1 but then the hurricane in October wiped out some of my studio gear. When I was rebuilding I picked up one of the Dell 24" widescreen monitors to use along with a Planar 19" LCD. WinXP can't handle multiple ICC monitor profiles properly, but they have a workaround with their colour control panel applet, which requires SP2. I'm also upgrading to VT 4.6 and I've read here that others have encountered problems on SP1 systems that went away with the application of the service pack.

This is the problem I'm currently experiencing:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;885464

The other firewire bug doesn't affect me as I'm using Unibrain's drivers:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/885222

The first problem is a major issue for me because I want to use the FW800 drives when working with DV or NewTek's NT25 codec, and also for audio work in Nuendo. It's rather difficult when the drives just spontaneously drop!

~Stivan