PDA

View Full Version : LightWave 7.5c!



Oddgit
05-15-2003, 07:32 PM
im installing it now hopefully there will be no issues! :)

Xacto
05-15-2003, 09:12 PM
Yahoo!!!

Beamtracer
05-16-2003, 01:22 AM
Does it work with the recently released Mac OS 10.2.6?

Pensart
05-16-2003, 01:46 AM
any weird things yet oddgit? :D

Darth Mole
05-16-2003, 01:54 AM
I can't seem to get it to download, either with Safari or IE.

Hmph.

jnjcre8
05-16-2003, 02:33 AM
Well I am not sure if any body tested this yet but everytime you move the light around. It seems like viper reacts to it. So you can see the effect of the light in viper. I am not sure if I was able to do that in the 7.5b.

If that was an update from newtek. Thank you


So far everything is running good.

cremegg
05-16-2003, 03:08 AM
I've not actually _played_ with it yet but my opinion of NewTek has been raised a little from my first glance. An _admittedly large_ help system available for download and after installing the 7.5c Update what do I find in my LightWave 3D 7.5 folder, none other than the Linux 7.5c installer (Pitty I no longer intend to purchase a PeeC). Not to mention the Plugin parity _at last_.

Its all looking mighty good so far.

Now its time to play :D.

cremegg
05-16-2003, 03:17 AM
1 minor quibble, it seems to have installed some folders with questionable permissions. linux_installer, LScripts>LScripts_Docs and Plugins>Legacy all installed with root as the owner and no access for anyone else. All easily rectified and could well be limited to a conflict with my system setup but i thought i'd mention it.

luka
05-16-2003, 03:35 AM
yeah well done, but I hate to put a damper on the help file but when you click on Motion Designer then on Motion Designer Displacement Plug-Ins, well the whole thing implodes?

cremegg
05-16-2003, 03:48 AM
Woaw! Someone screwed up their .html didn't they. Well spotted luka, I hadn't even started looking through the help yet, hope theres not to many like that :rolleyes: . Another BUG for NewTek, RoFL.

btw, is that _new_ unofficial particle system still available? I can't find it, but then again I can't exactly remember how you navigated to it in 7.5b :confused: .

Chazz
05-16-2003, 05:43 AM
It seems to work pretty well under 10.2.6 for me, plus we finally get the reduce.p and the other missing plugins!

Weepul
05-16-2003, 07:42 AM
7.5c's been consistently unexpectedly quitting every time I try to render anything using a surface thickness gradient. Doesn't matter what texture channel it's in, what number of threads LW is set to render with... Dual 1.25 GHz G4, OS X 10.2.6.

Looks like I'll be using the Coffee plugin for awhile yet...

cremegg
05-16-2003, 08:30 AM
Originally posted by weepul
7.5c's been consistently unexpectedly quitting every time I try to render anything using a surface thickness gradient. Doesn't matter what texture channel it's in, what number of threads LW is set to render with...

Dual 800Mhz. I can't reproduce the crash at all weepul.

mattc
05-16-2003, 04:33 PM
The surface thickness issue is known. Just remember to turn on trace transparency.
No more crashes. :)

Regards
Matt

mbaldwin
05-16-2003, 09:48 PM
bandsaw pro problems.

slow, stuttering realtime update of bandsaw lines on geometry. buggy boggy. Does anyone else confirm this with 7.5c?

I'm running LW on OSX(10.2.6)

Dual G4 1gz machine(Last years model--no mirror drive) with 1.5gigs ram
Nvidia Geforce 4 MX

I'm happy to report that I haven't found anything else yet.

I'll call this one in to tech support on Monday. I'd be curious if anyone can duplicate this.

Ade
05-17-2003, 05:54 AM
Guys try running a downgraded OSX with 7.5c..
i.e.
10.2.4 + LW 7.5c

10.2.5 introduced alot of open gl display bugs!

cremegg
05-17-2003, 07:59 AM
10.2.5 introduced "Radeon" bugs ;).

I'm not seeing any issues with 10.2.6 and 7.5c.

Surface Thickness was fine with RayTrace Trans on or off.

Must try BandSaw Pro later and then i'll report back :)

thelocknar
05-17-2003, 08:51 AM
Originally posted by mbaldwin
bandsaw pro problems.

slow, stuttering realtime update of bandsaw lines on geometry. buggy boggy. Does anyone else confirm this with 7.5c?

I'm running LW on OSX(10.2.6)

Dual G4 1gz machine(Last years model--no mirror drive) with 1.5gigs ram
Nvidia Geforce 4 MX

I'm happy to report that I haven't found anything else yet.

I'll call this one in to tech support on Monday. I'd be curious if anyone can duplicate this.

Confirmed.

Same machine specs as yours. Still running 10.2.4, so it's not an OS version issue.

thelocknar
05-17-2003, 09:06 AM
Regarding Bandsaw Pro:

Because I installed 7.5c to a new directory, I had all the old 7.5 plugins available. Out of curiosity, I unloaded the 7.5c version of bandsaw.p, and loaded in the 7.5 version of the plugin. BandSawPro, BandSaw, and BandGlue all seem to work fine in 7.5c, no stuttering.

Has anyone else tried using plugins from previous versions? Does this create problems down the line?

cremegg
05-17-2003, 09:36 AM
Originally posted by mbaldwin
slow, stuttering realtime update of bandsaw lines on geometry. buggy boggy. Does anyone else confirm this with 7.5c?

Confirmed, although I'd hardly call it a major issue.

Dual 800Mhz, Apple GeForce 3, 10.2.6.

hcoat
05-17-2003, 11:02 AM
the surface thinkness issue was gone only after saving the scene. Having Ray, Trans on or off had no effect.

mbaldwin
05-17-2003, 07:00 PM
yes, the bandsaw pro glitch is a flow-killer, but it's tolerable for now.

thelocknar: I thought of replacing it with the old bandsaw pro as well--only(and stop me if I'm wrong) it would replace the newer bandglue at the same time.

I like the new bandglue: Newtek cleaned it up so it doesn't leave the annoying extra points at the ends of a run, It would be a shame to let it go.

Oh well, it seems like a minor job to repackage the BandSaw.p plugs with the old working version of BandsawPro, then post it as a separate fix. I'll check with Newtek and see if they can do it.

My impression of this upgrade is that it's pretty solid. I haven't been having crash problems that others have reported, and it was a welcome change to see the level of pollish Newtek brought to even the download area on their site. You can tell they were sweating the details. A big thanks to Ntek too for supplying the long-lost OSX plugs--a very welcome surprise.

-m.

toby
05-17-2003, 11:57 PM
I'm still on 10.2.3
DP 450 1gb GForce2
No problems yet except the surface thickness crash (yes raytrace trans fixed it)

Weepul
05-18-2003, 05:29 AM
Thanks! The surface thickness crash seems to only happen if none of the raytrace options are on. Turning on any of them fixes it for me.

"Cool beans." :cool:

There seems to be no way to preview it in the suface editor, though.

silvergun
05-18-2003, 08:47 AM
ive updated to 7.5c and the evil radeon bug is still there..come on ati you evil lot....doesnt give me a chance to check out the new features!!

jcool
05-20-2003, 07:25 AM
Could someone let me know if the "Clone Hierarchy" plugin works in 7.5c? That would come in handy right now, but I'd rather not go through the upgrade process if it still doesn't work.

turbo
05-21-2003, 01:08 PM
Modeler is crashing more often now since upgrading to c.
Last crash/freeze/spinning ball was from simply creating a disc in front view in non textured view mode.
:( :mad: :(

DP G4 500
Radeon 8500 mac edition
1024 RAM
OSX 10.2.6
LW 7.5c

Ade
05-21-2003, 09:14 PM
Rendering in Layout still crashes the app, im soo sick of this crap!
First modeller now layout, fseems that skytracer still doesnt like moren than one thread.