PDA

View Full Version : Info about Sasquatch?

freakstate
02-13-2006, 10:58 AM
Hi all, i've just joined the forums. Been using Lightwave at Uni for last 2 years of my degree course so i'm still on a very steep learning curve but my newest project for uni needs fur for grass and some sheep.

I've made use of Saslite for screenshots but ive just reach it's limitations. (only 8 instances of saslite allowed and a limit on points on the polygon) This is a major blow to my project idea where i want to render a large grassy field and furry sheep!

I've explored the Sasquatch website but the plug-in of $499 is alot for a poor student like me so how easy is it to get a 2nd hand copy or is that even possible? (with registration etc) Or does anyone know the EXACT limitations of saslite and i may be able to work around it.

Paul_Boland
02-13-2006, 11:45 AM
Having not used Saslite yet (I'm new to Lightwave too), I'm not the best person to answer this question, but I will tell you that I saw a picture in an old issue of 3D World magazine, where they covered Lightwave. The image depicted a toy bear, covered with fun, sitting in the middle of a grassy field, and the tutorial on creating this image was done using Saslite (if I remember correctly). There was a lot of fur and a lot of grass, though whether this reached the limits of Saslite or not I don't know. If you want, I can dig out the tutorial and scan it for you. It may not be what you are after, but it might point you in the right direction. I'm sure more advanced users will be able to give you more details.

sachmizzle
02-13-2006, 01:51 PM
hey paul, you know which issue of 3DW that was in? might have to rummage through my old issues and find it ;p

hrgiger
02-13-2006, 02:09 PM