PDA

View Full Version : Rendering TIme Help - PLEASE!

DHudson
02-08-2006, 09:23 AM
Hello! I am pretty new at Lightwave. What I need to render are two connected rooms, empty of anything except wood mouldings (crown moulding, floor moulding...). The project is to go on the web as a Flash to show off the wood mouldings for a lumber company.

The wood mouldings come to me in Adobe Illustrator files that are life-sized. So if the moulding is 4" tall in real life, it also is in the AI file.

Because of this, I have made the 2 connected rooms "life sized".

My question is this - is the size of the rooms the reason it is taking soooo long to render? I have over 300 mouldings to render and it will take me years at this rate.

(I'm sure the fact that I am using a PowerPC Mac with only 450 MHz and 576 MB SDRAM probably isn't helping)

I have attached a screen shot so you can see where I am.

Thank you!

BazC
02-08-2006, 11:00 AM
No I don't think the size of the models has anything to do with the render time. My guess is you have a very high polygon count from those moldings? It's really best if you give more info about your scene though.

What is your polygon count? How many lights are you using and what sort are they? Are you using Radiosity? What sort and what settings. Are you using transparency and or reflection? How big are your renders and what are your antialiasing settings? What about textures? How many and how big are they?

All these things have a major impact on render times.

"I'm sure the fact that I am using a PowerPC Mac with only 450 MHz and 576 MB SDRAM probably isn't helping"

Er, no, probably not lol! :D

DHudson
02-08-2006, 12:46 PM
Thank you for your response.

I have 31,191 Polygons. There are 3 area lights and 4 point lights, no radiosity (should I? I am new at this still) and in camera properties, I set the resolution mulitiplier to 25% with antialiasing off, just so I wouldn't have to wait forever to see a single rendering.