PDA

View Full Version : steel braided hose



monfoodoo
02-07-2006, 09:23 PM
any thoughts on doing steel braided hose?as in radiator or oil lines.i need alot of it. scott

ACLOBO
02-08-2006, 01:29 AM
texture map it... steel braiding is fairly dense and you don't see through it. It is meant to shield the cable inside. So, find a picture of the steel braid and use it as a texture / bump map. actually modeling the braid would be a pain and rather useless since it is just a right wrapping.

I used to build wire-harnesses for Delta series Rockets at Boeing - the steel braiding is tight....

-Adrian

LW_jackn
02-08-2006, 09:04 AM
And if you really needed to see any part of the hose underneath clip/transparency/texture alpha are options

Mr. Black
02-08-2006, 11:46 AM
Here's a tut that might work. It's sorta goofy but it gives you the freedom to run your hoses wherever. Just make sure to make the braid image map a perfect repeatable pattern (replace the rope map in the tut with your metal braid)
Cheers
Jeff

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44916

Scott_Blinn
02-08-2006, 12:45 PM
I'm no help on how to make the hose (other than suggest Rope Edit Plus maybe), but here is a great reference photo of some:

http://www.g-cans.jp/intro/07photo/01.html

More cool images of the area:

http://www.g-cans.jp/intro/07photo/index.html

Also, maybe use this?: http://perso.wanadoo.fr/dpont/plugins/Weaves.html

Scott_Blinn
02-08-2006, 03:08 PM
I had a few minutes at lunch and whipped this together really quick. One is steel and the other is rubber coated.

To make them I used Rope Edit Plus for the model (makes it easy to UV and move cable around/change shape later).

For the surface I just made a quick weave texture and UV mapped it. Also set it up in spec, ref, bump, etc.

Spending some actual time on the surface and seamless texture I'm sure it could look much better. :-)