PDA

View Full Version : sharp corner to round corner question.

punisher2005
02-07-2006, 02:03 PM
I'm new to lightwave/3d modeling in general and I'm wondering if there is a way (preferably easy) to change a sharp 90 degree corner into a rounded corner.
I tried boolean and drilling, but they don't sem to work (unless I am doing something wrong).

I have attached a file to see what I mean.

The object already has depth and is not flat.

Speaking of which, assuming I have something that already has depth, is there a way to convert it into a flat object?

Hardwater
02-07-2006, 03:25 PM
Use the tool "rounder" under "multiply". First select the edge you want to round by vertices/points. So select the 2 points that make up the edge shown in the image and hit the rounder tool. click and drag in any viewport to apply tool and have the numeric panel open(button is at the bottom menu). In the panel you can choose how many segments in your "rounded" edge, distance from selected edge and more.

I would search this tool in the help manual and learn all the options.

punisher2005
02-07-2006, 03:36 PM
Just tried that and I'm getting an error:

Zero length vector - polygon points coincident (E402)

Did a search and 1 topic came up, but no answer for the cause.

Tim Parsons
02-07-2006, 03:55 PM
Its important for Rounder to have good clean geometry. Be sure to merge m points before using Rounder. Also get in the habit of checking your Sel: field in the lower left-hand side of your interface for the number of points or polys you have selected. For instance you may assume that you just have two points selected making up your edge when in reality you have four, this area will tell you exactly.

Tim

kiwi dave
02-07-2006, 07:40 PM
The easiest way might be to redraw your square and using the numeric panel add edges to round off the corner.

Then use your stretch tool to sharpen the edges you wish to remain box-like.

Hardwater
02-07-2006, 08:30 PM