PDA

View Full Version : Splashes



Fredux
02-01-2006, 04:15 AM
Hey guys!
Where can i get all splahes of the lightwave from the first version the programe start?

Thanks
Antonio

Intuition
02-01-2006, 12:32 PM
I have to ask because I don't understand the question.

Are you talking about water splashes or like a splash page?

Be more descriptive.

jeremyhardin
02-01-2006, 12:38 PM
not sure if it's what you want, but a quick google search yielded this:
http://www.podpics.org/wiki/mediawiki-1.4.4/index.php?title=LightWave_History

Fredux
02-01-2006, 04:45 PM
I need the splash screens of the lightwave from 1 version till now.
What i mean about splash is the screan wheny ou open a programe its the first screan you see, hold on ill give you the link for exp: http://photoshopnews.com/stories/images/splashscreens/ps-7.png but this is photoshop one, i need lightwave, from all versions, can anyone help me?

Thanks.
Antonio

jeremyhardin
02-01-2006, 04:50 PM
LW doesn't have a splash now. maybe it used to.

Fredux
02-01-2006, 04:51 PM
are you sure?
:confused:

jeremyhardin
02-01-2006, 04:58 PM
hehe. yep. I started in the 5.x days and it didn't have one then. hasn't had one since either. like I said.

maybe it used to, but I think the link I posted earlier is the best info you'll find on previous versions short of asking newtek to run it the old ones and take screenshots. maybe they would. who knows.

Fredux
02-01-2006, 05:01 PM
Oki ill try.
Thanks for link

RedBull
02-01-2006, 05:21 PM
No splash screens, only in the about box will you find one (pictured) and i think that's only since 6 or 7.

jeremyhardin
02-01-2006, 05:30 PM
wow. didn't know that.

Fredux
02-02-2006, 02:43 AM
Sweet thats what i need, if any of you got older versions can you check if there is one too? please.

Big thanks to "jeremyhardin" and "RedBull"

spec24
02-02-2006, 08:58 AM
there's also a splash screen for the LW install with the CG girl blowing a kiss with the LW logo in her hands - don't have a pic though.

jeremyhardin
02-02-2006, 09:40 AM
the 6.5 installer splash

jeremyhardin
02-02-2006, 09:41 AM
the 7.5 installer splash

Fredux
02-02-2006, 09:43 AM
Thanks jeremyhardin you really helping me thanks mate :thumbsup:

You know where can i get Lightwave LOGO? i know that i can cut it out but may be there is a pack with lightwave stuff for designers? I just wonder if there is one.

LW_jackn
02-02-2006, 11:51 AM
I don't think that prior to 6.x there was a splash screen in Lightwave even through the about menu link. There was an older Logo design for 5.x days that floated around for general advertisement use...

Like on this book cover for example...

http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B00003L4FU.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

jeremyhardin
02-02-2006, 11:53 AM
so...what's this for (out of curiosity...)?

nemac4
02-02-2006, 01:06 PM
LW 5 intel

nemac4
02-02-2006, 01:07 PM
lw 5 intel installer

nemac4
02-02-2006, 01:11 PM
LOL,.. playing with 5.0.. it's sooo fast! I remember when I used to use the cow.lwo to test my video card ,.. to see how many seconds for it to redraw. LOL!

jeremyhardin
02-02-2006, 01:13 PM
seriously, it was a f***ing tank back in the day. and it would render just about anything you could throw at it.

Fredux
02-02-2006, 02:44 PM
Thanks to everyone for help. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Cageman
02-02-2006, 04:07 PM
LW doesn't have a splash now. maybe it used to.

One reason that LW never had, and hopefully never NEED, a splash is because it loads soo fast. :D I remember that it was pretty darn fast even on Amigas. :lwicon:

ACLOBO
02-02-2006, 08:46 PM
Oops, Cageman beat me!

ONe thing I miss from the Amiga version was the nice animated transition between layout and modeler - SLICK. Also, I liked the moving previews on the Amiga - except on hefy models where it would take some time to get the frames all rendered and buffered in the moving preview. If you accidently moved the preview perspective window view, it would have to start over... lol.. Good old days.

BTW, I started out on version 3.5 (550 bucks back then for full version).

The main reason that lightwave doesn't have "standard" splash screens is that it DOESN'T require giving something to the user to look at while loading. Unlike [email protected], lightwave loads very quickly and a splash screen is not required.

:D

I have max 7 and I get annoyed at having to wait while it loads. I guess the splash screen does have a purpose in [email protected] as it often gives you some handy keyboard shortcuts to see...

-Adrian

LW_jackn
02-02-2006, 11:11 PM
Wow... I feel old...

I started with 3.0 on the Toaster at work, and my first official version that I owned myself was 4.0 Intel...

Can I change my title to Old Fart? :D

nemac4
02-02-2006, 11:27 PM
I have an old Amiga Toaster 2000HD. I still use is at church for live switching. Sometimes I start up LW 3.x for kicks... doesn't take long to get my fill though.... LW really has come a long way.

jeremyhardin
02-03-2006, 10:39 AM
so...what's this for (out of curiosity...)?
so...Fredux...

what was this for again?

Fredux
02-03-2006, 01:53 PM
Oh itís for my research, I am doing a multimedia and I have to design a splash screen for new programme version. But before that I need to do the research on old ones, as every one doing Photoshop 3D max, that caned of same so I decided to do lightwave more harder as you see now. But ill get there. So itís for my coursework. And thanks again to every one who has helped me. Thanks guys.


P.S.
You know where can i get Lightwave LOGO? i know that i can cut it out but may be there is a pack with lightwave stuff for designers? I just wonder if there is one.

LW3D
02-03-2006, 02:25 PM
I started with LightWave 3.5 (amiga)...

LightWave 4 Intel

Fredux
02-03-2006, 02:34 PM
I started with LightWave 3.5 (amiga)...

LightWave 4 Intel


Thanks m8 :thumbsup:

Bog
02-04-2006, 07:22 AM
http://www.podpics.org/wiki/mediawiki-1.4.4/images/0/02/1990-LW10-layout.png

Awwwww... awwww! Aw, look at it!

*sings "Sunrise, Sunset" to himself*

Fredux
02-04-2006, 08:16 AM
LoL is this how the old lightwave looked long time ago. LOL

Bog
02-04-2006, 08:37 AM
With the Wabac Machine set to T Minus Sixteen Years. There's pre-history even to that, but it wasn't called LightWave.

*sniffles*

I'm exactly twice LightWave's age this year. Makes me feel all emotional.