PDA

View Full Version : saving problem: very big problem!



criodesign
01-21-2006, 12:59 AM
Dear all, I've a problem with the render sequence saving.
In the render option panel i set the Save rgb on in tga mode, and when i start the render sequence the program dont save the file with any extension.
So i've to rename all the frame with the .tga!
What is appened?
I have this problem since few days, but it's a big proble working with animation.

Please, help me!

prospector
01-21-2006, 01:11 AM
try typing in .tga after your pic name
along with the tga setting on button

criodesign
01-21-2006, 01:56 AM
try typing in .tga after your pic name
along with the tga setting on button

Done, it doesnt work!
There is another problem: if i open a scene of my computer in another computer , my file change the settings of the program that automatically stop to type the extension file!

colkai
01-21-2006, 03:10 AM
My guess,
Your "Output Format" in the Render Options Panel is set to something like..
'Name001' rather than 'Name001.xxx'

Korvar
01-21-2006, 03:19 AM
Dear all, I've a problem with the render sequence saving.
In the render option panel i set the Save rgb on in tga mode, and when i start the render sequence the program dont save the file with any extension.
So i've to rename all the frame with the .tga!
What is appened?
I have this problem since few days, but it's a big proble working with animation.

Please, help me!

The option you're looking for is the Output Filename Format and is found in the output files tab of the render options dialog box. If I've sucessfully attached the screenshot, it should appear here:

criodesign
01-23-2006, 02:22 AM
The option you're looking for is the Output Filename Format and is found in the output files tab of the render options dialog box. If I've sucessfully attached the screenshot, it should appear here:

Thank you!
You've solved my problem!
Witch is the function of this option?
Why do I need to export a file without any extension?

mattclary
01-23-2006, 05:24 AM
We could tell you, but then we'd have to kill you. ;)

criodesign
01-23-2006, 06:43 AM
We could tell you, but then we'd have to kill you. ;)
:eek:
Very interesting!
But before I've got another question for you!
Do you know if it's possible to save an animation obtaining different file for the specular channel, color channel, glossiness channel?
I know that other software use different channels for a better managing in post-production.
Do you know if Lightwave can work in this way?

criodesign
01-23-2006, 06:45 AM
Thank you!

colkai
01-23-2006, 07:00 AM
Do you know if it's possible to save an animation obtaining different file for the specular channel, color channel, glossiness channel?
I know that other software use different channels for a better managing in post-production.
Do you know if Lightwave can work in this way?

Yup - there are buffer savers that allow you to do just this. :)
There is also a very good 3rd party buffer saver for free called ASA_BufferSaver
http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1445

Plus a commercial plugin called Surpasses.
http://www.flay.com/getkeyword.cfm

criodesign
01-24-2006, 12:59 AM
Ok thank you very much. :thumbsup:
Now I need some time to find it and test it. :bangwall:

criodesign
01-24-2006, 06:43 AM
Yup - there are buffer savers that allow you to do just this. :)
There is also a very good 3rd party buffer saver for free called ASA_BufferSaver
http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1445

Plus a commercial plugin called Surpasses.
http://www.flay.com/getkeyword.cfm

Very nice! :thumbsup:
I need only to use it.

Bog
01-24-2006, 07:12 AM
For future reference, Sequence 911 (http://www.fxshare.com/downloads/tools/rename_pad/87.html) is jolly handy if you've had a filename or extension goof.