PDA

View Full Version : To The Successful

paulmcg1
01-20-2006, 10:16 PM
I'm writing this to the successful 3d artists. I have been learning 3d for roughly two years now. Over that span of time, I've produced decent work (animation & stills). From the time I started 3d untill today, I've always had this invisible ''creative block'' that is blocking all ideas that are possible and satisfying to me.

I think part of the reason this so called ''block'' is there is because when I become inspired to do something in 3d, I always then think, 'how in the world can I pull off such a animation like that?' or, 'how in the world can I pull off such a still image like that?' And with the little inspiration I have, you might see that this can be frustrating for me.

So maybe my question is how do I become successful in 3d? To me being successful in 3d is being able to create work without frustration. Maybe this is why I am frustrated because maybe that isn't possible. Ah, now its becoming confusing! Well, maybe my first definition of being successful in 3d isn't true. However, then quite possibly being successful in 3d means creating work that you are 100% satisfied with. Creating work that when you view it, you smile and say 'I created that from nothing and I'm so happy I did'.

Maybe someone can respond with good advice and not just an oppinion. Im really in need of some help, I've been like this for two years and its getting tiresome.

Paul M.

AbnRanger
01-20-2006, 10:45 PM
It's easy to look at the impressive work others have done, and get discouraged....no matter what creative field it is. That comes with the territory sometimes. I find that my best stuff comes when I just dive in and get to work. Things I didn't initially plan, come DURING the process...and before you know it (usually with alot of tweaking) you've made something to be proud of.